The Aegis

Harford Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter inducts new members

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

Harford Community College’s Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the International Honor Society of two-year colleges, inducted new members into the honor society in a ceremony on April 19 in the college’s Chesapeake Theater. Previous inductees who could not attend their in-person ceremony, as well as fall 2021 and spring 2022 inductees, were invited to participate.

“This opportunity for me means assistance with my college tuition so I am able to continue my education, worry free and network with my fellow PTK members that could potentially help in my career,” said new inductee Shaakira Anderson.


Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. To be eligible for membership, a student must have completed 12 credit hours at HCC and have a cumulative 3.2 GPA.

The ceremony opened with a greeting from Shreeyam Mishra, chapter president, and a welcome from Dr. Theresa B. Felder, Harford Community College’s president. Jennifer Wilcox, assistant professor of chemistry and chapter advisor, was the faculty speaker; and Julia Halliwell, chapter member and president of the Student Government Association, was the guest speaker.


“I had no idea that PTK was such a valuable organization until I was invited to join the chapter,” Amedeo Ercole, new inductee, said. “After attending the welcoming ceremony, I quickly realized that I would be joining an organization with strong and progressive minded people who will be the future of success in our generation.”

The spring 2022 inductees are: Kahla Adeyemi, Jenlean Alvarado, Shaakira Anderson, Mercedes Bastian, Moriah Bender, Adam Berg, Phoebe Berg, Brittany Berry, JuliaBirchfield, Connor Blantz, Rebecca Brittell, Justin Burns, Edward Byars, Tewabech Chikssa, Michael Cisco, Megan Dascher, Latera Davis, Jasmine Dudley, Amedeo Ercole, Colby Ferguson, Abbie Field, Natalie Foos, Stephanie Forbes, Philipp Gall, Jared Gallamoza, Emma Grantland, Ryan Groleau, Madison Hall, Julia Halliwell, Makayla Hauck-Meyer, Julia Heffner, Natasha Herlinger, Thomas Hoppel, Emily Hoskins, Katlyn Kline, Alexa Kolosey, Kristina Lang, Jacob Lotz, Katharine Lowrimore, Stacey Maxwell, Katelyn Melcher, Virginia Moore, Kelsey Moyer, Aimable Mugwaneza, Pauline Mundia, Dillon Newport, Oluwajebe Ogunnoiki, Jack Owen, Bryan Pruner, Christina Richardson, Lee Shepard, Nathan Skopp, Kayla Smith, Katherine Snodgrass, Jordan Thacker, Alyssa Thompson, John Tran, Anastasia Vasilas and Andrea Woodward.

The fall 2021 inductees are: Douglas Adams, Anthony Amato, James Appel, Erin Arkins, Timothy Barbosa, Lynsey Beamon, Christine Bell, Cassandra Berger, Tyler Biagi, Evan Cassady, Jennifer Cook, Noah Courtney, Anita Cullum, Emmily DeBoard, Rowan Derrick, Clarissa DeSalvo, Solana Duncan, Kaitlin Fannin, Kimberly Fewster, Keith Floyd, Michael Gisriel, Krista Goettel, Elisabeth Grant, Jessica Grode, Shannon Hand, Mallory Harris, James Helman, Debbie Jones, Kathleen Keech, Kam Lee, Kayla Lewis, Laleh Lyman, Madeline Markoff, Muhammed Maroof, Heather Marsalek, Aaron Marzec, Gabriel Miller, Tabitha Nichols, Jenny Nowicki-Powell, Zainab Oladejo, Tabitha Palmer, Corey Poferl, Cassidy Poole, Gabriel Raiber, Emma Riley, Stephanie Rivera, Sara Seigley, Natalie Selvi, Aaron Shetterly, Penelope Shevenell, Anya Shupe, Madison Simms, Grace Sordillo, Anthony Stevenson, Alexis Sturgill, Amanda Sullivan, Catrece Ann Tipon, Ivie Valentine, Natalie Walker, James Wallace, Victoria Westerman and Kathryn Wilcox.

Previous inductees include: Olivia Borkowski-Johnson, spring 2021; Lauren Carbaugh, spring 2021; April Davis, spring 2020; Meghan Dowell, spring 2021; Angelica Jones, spring 2021; Jennifer Kaufman, fall 2020; Meghan Knight, spring 2021; Iris Lovelace, spring 2020; Shreeyam Mishra, fall 2019; Jordan Mojica, fall 2020; Mibi Olorunfemi, spring 2021; Olorunjimi Olorunfemi, fall 2020; Ashley Peña, fall 2020; David Quesenberry, fall 2020; Dania Rodriz, spring 2021; and Emma Wolf, spring 2021.

For more information on Harford Community College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, contact advisors Jennie Towner at or Jennifer Wilcox at

Harford Community College’s Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of two-year colleges, inducted its spring 2022 members at a ceremony on campus in April.