The Aegis
Harford County

New Harford County school board members sworn in

Newcomers Denise Perry, Melissa Hahn, Diane Alvarez, Carol Bruce and Wade Sewell were sworn in as members of the Board of Education of Harford County on Monday evening.

Returning board member Carol Mueller was also sworn in. Mueller was elected in November after being appointed to the board in 2020.


“They all have a very positive outlook, and I am looking forward to working with them,” Superintendent Sean Bulson said. “I think we have a good mix of people with a range of talents, and it’s nice to have diversity and experience in different backgrounds on the board.


The Morning Sun


Get your morning news in your e-mail inbox. Get all the top news and sports from the

“This is such a great reflection of what this community is, and they all have different experiences within that. I think we have a pretty broad range of backgrounds and beliefs, but as long as everyone treats each other civilly, I think we are going to do really good on behalf of the families of the students in this county.”

After the board members were sworn in, Mueller was elected as president of the board and Sewell was elected as vice president of the board. Alongside Sewell, Patrice Ricciardi was nominated to be vice president, but she declined the nomination.

Board members receive a monthly $300 stipend to be used for board-related expenses, according to HCPS spokesperson Jillian Lader.