The Aegis
Harford County

Bel Air Mayor Burdette says she’s not running again as election season nears

Residents in two Harford municipalities — Bel Air and Aberdeen — will elect new leaders this fall.

In Bel Air, three of the five town commissioners seats are up for election to two-year terms, while in Aberdeen, all five spots — the mayor and four council members — will be elected to four-year terms.


Bel Air Mayor Susan Burdette, who has been on the board of town commissioners for eight years, said she has “really put everything into it” and does not plan to seek re-election.

For nearly four years, she has been the chair of the board of commissioners, which carries the honorary title of mayor.


Burdette became a commissioner a year after retiring from the Harford County Public Library system, where she worked for 35 years.

“I have plenty of other things to do,” Burdette said. “There are other boards I’m on and projects personally I’m interested in working on.”

Commissioner Brendan Hopkins said he hasn’t made his decision yet on whether he would seek re-election and Commissioner Philip Einhorn did not respond to an email inquiry by 2:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Terms for commissioners Patrick Richards and Amy Chmielewski expire in November 2021.

Three people — Kevin Bianca, DanielW. Gray and Michael D. Kutcher — have already filed to run for commissioner.

The filing period closes at 7 p.m. Oct. 4.

Candidates for commissioner of the Town of Bel Air must have lived in town limits for at least six months immediately preceding the election and must be a registered voter in Maryland.

Candidates must file in person, at Town Hall, 39 N. Hickory Ave., and complete a written certificate of candidacy and code of ethics financial disclosure statement with the Town Clerk. The filing fee is $25.


The election is from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Nov. 5 at Bel Air Town Hall.


Aberdeen Mayor Patrick McGrady said he hasn’t made up his mind on whether he’ll seek re-election to the seat he won in 2015.

Aberdeen elected officials, the mayor and four council members, serve four-year terms elected at the same time.

“Maybe, I don’t know, we’ll see. Baby number three is six months old,” McGrady said. “I’ve got a number of work projects to keep me busy."

He would, however, like to see the new medical facility and activity center completed. If someone is running who can accomplish those, he won’t run again, he said.

The activity center he thinks will be “done successfully” in the next term.


“I don’t need to do it for my own edification,” McGrady said.

If McGrady runs for re-election, he’ll be running against Melvin Taylor, who said Tuesday he’ll be running for mayor rather than to keep his seat on the city council.

The Morning Sun

The Morning Sun


Get your morning news in your e-mail inbox. Get all the top news and sports from the

Councilman Tim Lindecamp said he hasn’t made up his mind if he’ll seek re-election, but said it’s most likely he will.

Councilwoman Sandra Landbeck had every intention of making this her last term, but said “it appears there may be a transition problem in the making.”

“I will wait to see who runs. I have been working on some good replacements. If all looks good, I would like to make my exit,” Landbeck wrote in an email. “There has been a lot accomplished in the past few years. It would be a good time to leave. I guess we’ll wait and see.”

Councilman Steve Goodin said in an email he does not intend to seek re-election.


Candidate packets can be picked up at Aberdeen City Hall beginning Monday. Completed paperwork must be filed in person with the city clerk between Sept. 3 and Sept. 13 between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m.

The last day to withdraw candidacy is Oct. 4 in writing to the city clerk.

Polls in Aberdeen are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Aberdeen Activity Center, 7 Franklin St.