Wrestling: Century crowns 7 champions, takes FSK holiday tourney title

Century senior Sam Rothstein talk about his team winning the Francis Scott Key Memorial Wrestling Tournament. (Tom Worgo / Carroll County Times)

There were no surprises in pursuit of the team title at the Francis Scott Key Jeff Yingling Memorial Wrestling Tournament Tuesday night.

Century High crowned seven champions and had three runners-up, as the Knights repeated as champion in convincing fashion. Century (246.5 points) finished ahead of runner-up Francis Scott Key (183), Tuscarora (134), and Smithsburg (157.5).


Sophomore Brendan Cline (120 pounds, 8-4 record) and seniors Brett Wardle (160, 14-2), Cody Davis (170, 15-1), Jack Akers (220, 11-0), and Sam Rothstein (285, 13-0) led the Knights by capturing titles.

Each wrestler recorded pins.

"I was excited for our guys because they have worked so hard to get to this point," Century first-year coach Steve Willingham said. "We had a rough time at our first tournament [North Hagerstown duals]. I told them this is our opportunity to show where we are at as a team, and they got rewarded for their hard work."

Cline, who was promoted from the JV this week, won the first Knights' championship of the night, pinning Long Reach's Mark Tong in 5:55.

"We have been telling him all year that if he settles into the weight class where we thought he should be, that he would be very successful," said Willingham, noting Cline dropped down from 126. "He proved that today."

The Knights didn't fare as well in the final at 126.

Francis Scott Key's Dontae Smith (10-1) dominated Century's Dylan Fitzgerald, scoring an 18-6 decision over the Knight. Smith was one of three champions for the host Eagles.

Francis Scott Key also got a stellar performance in 138 final as Gabe Mojica pinned Smithsburg's Wyatt Orwig in 3:28.

"Gabe had wrestled the kid last week and I thought it was a sloppy match," Francis Scott Key coach Bill Hyson said of the third-period pin that Mojica won. "I thought he went out on a mission this time to finish. He just cleaned up a lot of things."

The Eagles' Brett Rinehart (195, 11-1) secured his title by pinning Century's Camden Herbert in 38 seconds.

Century claimed its second championship when Nick Dahl (145) beat Tuscarora's Dayton Newman 14-5. Two bouts later, Wardle pinned Francis Scott Key's Ryan Owings in 1:40.

Davis followed with a pin of Francis Scott Key's Nate Imes in 5:53. Century's Tom Morey (10-5) then won a crown at 182 by forfeit. The Knights finished with a flourish, getting consecutive pins from Akers and Rothstein.

Gerstell Academy, a second-year varsity program, was competing in its first tournament. The team received respectable performances from Rami Tadros (132) and Tyler Curtis (152). Tadros pinned Century's Nathan Haerbig in the second period to place third.

Curtis (152) advanced to the final, where he lost to Smithburg's Josh Atkinson, 5-4.


"He got seed coming into the tournament and no one thought he deserved it," Gerstell coach Patrick Lloyd said of Curtis. "He proved he did. I think he have a great season and place in the MIAAs."

Championship Finals

106: Vinnie Catania (T) dec. Stephen Hurst (C) 5-2.

113: Shane Hovemale (Smi.) pin Kooper Clark (T) 3:22.

120: Brendan Cline (C) pin Mark Tong (LR) 5:55.

126: Dontae Smith (FSK) m-dec. Dylan Fitzgerald (C) 18-6.

132: Shane Cockerham (B) dec. Brendan Mislan (Smi) 7-4.

138: Gabe Mojica (FSK) pin Wyatt Orwig (Smi) in 3:28.

145: Nick Dahl (C) dec. Dayton Newman (T) 14-7.

152: Josh Atkinson (Smi) dec. Tyler Curtis (GA) 5-4.

160: Brett Wardle (C) pin Ryan Owings (FSK) 1:40.

170: Cody Davis (C) pin Nate Imes (FSK) 5:53.

182: Tom Morey (C) won by forfeit

195: Brett Rhinehart (FSK) pin Camden Hebert (C) 0:38.

220: Jack Akers (C) pin Robert Hood (Smi.) 0:24.

285: Sam Rothstein (C) pin Paul Hann (FSK) 1:47.