Football: Liberty's Justin Pellicciotti one of 5 regional winners at BTC Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner

Football scholar athlete award winners, from left: Alexander Gresock (Havre de Grace), Jacob Tribull (St. Mary's), Justin Pellicciotti (Liberty), Alexander Simet (Towson) and Wande Owens (Glenelg).
Football scholar athlete award winners, from left: Alexander Gresock (Havre de Grace), Jacob Tribull (St. Mary's), Justin Pellicciotti (Liberty), Alexander Simet (Towson) and Wande Owens (Glenelg). (Jeff Seidel photo)

Liberty High School’s Justin Pellicciotti recently wrapped up his varsity boys basketball season, but the senior had a little more football to celebrate before the winter came to an end.

Pellicciotti represented the Lions at the 56th annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner last Thursday night at Martin’s West, presented by The Greater Baltimore Chapter of National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. The wide receiver and defensive back then heard his name announced as one of five regional winners for a scholarship award.


Pellicciotti was one of the five individual winners who each received $4,000. Wande Owens (Glenelg), Alexander Simet (Towson), Alexander Gresock (Havre de Grace), and Jacob Tribull (St. Mary’s) were the other four.

Overall, there was one winner selected from each of five regions, and a total of 69 players were picked from Baltimore City, and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford, and Howard counties, to have a chance at those five regional honors.

Pellicciotti had 35 tackles and three interceptions on defense for Liberty, which went 10-0 during the regular season and won the Carroll County Athletic League championship. As a wideout for the Lions, Pellicciotti had two catches for 55 yards and a touchdown.

Pellicciotti is a two-time first-team all-county pick, and was a team captain plus a three-year starter for football. He earned first-team all-CCAL honors in the fall as well. He also ranks in the top 10 percent of his class.

This winter, Pellicciotti saw action in 18 games for the Lions’ basketball team. Liberty shared the CCAL title with Century and finished with a 20-3 record.

The Ben Eaton, Sr. Championship Awards went to Oakdale from Frederick County, the Class 2A state champion, and Franklin, who won the 3A state title. Franklin defeated Linganore 17-14 in the championship game with a 29-yard field goal as time ran out.

The Indians finished the season 12-2, and coach Anthony Burgos (McDaniel College) was named as Coach of the Year on The Baltimore Sun’s All-Metro team.

Oakdale defeated Liberty 38-14 in the 2A West semifinals.

Keith Mills from WBAL won the Herb Armstrong Service to Football Award. This is given to people who’ve made significant personal contribution and commitment to football in the Greater Baltimore area.

Each Carroll football was represented at the awards banquet.

Century had quarterback Brett Kropinski, Francis Scott Key had linebacker Kane Richardson, Manchester Valley had Jason Frazier, South Carroll had Ryan Gallagher, Westminster had quarterback Christian Etchison, and Winters Mill had Alex Barnes.

A look back, and ahead, at the regional playoffs for Carroll County's football teams.

Kropinski was third in the county in passing with 1,397 yards, and helped the Knights make the 2A West playoffs.

Gallagher led the Cavaliers with 38 receptions for 660 yards and seven TDs. He averaged 17.1 yards per catch.

Etchison led Carroll with 1,916 passing yards and threw for 19 touchdowns, and the Owls reached the 3A West playoffs.


Barnes threw for 1,000 yards and ran for 800, and tied for the county lead with 10 touchdowns.

Cavs’ Crown recognized with Super 22 status

South Carroll lineman Mike Crown has been honored by the Baltimore Touchdown Club with his selection to the 2019 Super 22 team. Players selected to the Super 22 team have received All-State, All-League and/or All-Conference honors during their junior season.

Additionally, academic performance was considered in the selection process, along with performance on the athletic field.

Crown is the 16th Cavaliers player selected to the Super 22 team since 2010, joining most recent honoree Max Moore (2018), according to South Carroll’s football team website.

Jeff Seidel contributed to this article.