Picture from the Lincoln Speedway in Abbottstown, Pa.
Picture from the Lincoln Speedway in Abbottstown, Pa. (Greg Wareheim / Baltimore Sun)


DATE: March 29

RACE: 25-lap 410 Super Sprint Feature WINNER: Danny Dietrich, Gettysburg, Pa.


RACE NOTES: Dietrich wired the field to win from the pole but saw his pace halted and slowed at times before he could reach victory lane. The worst of the incidents took place on lap four when the red flag unfurled for a vicious series of flips by Kasey Kahne as he was exiting the fourth corner. Kahne’s mount flipped down across the speedway and the former NASCAR star climbed from the car on his own power and walked to the ambulance, emergency crews were reviewing him as a precaution.

The restart with Steve Buckwalter in second and a tense battle unfold for third between Cory Haas and Lance Dewease with the pair see-sawing back and forth for the spot for four consecutive laps with Haas eventually coming out on top.

Just as traffic came into play for Dietrich, a yellow flag unfurled for a stopped Rodney Westhafer with 10 laps away. Haas and Dewease again did battle on the restart as Dietrich got away and again entered traffic, this time with 17 laps recorded. With five laps to go, Dietrich had a straightaway lead over Buckwalter and was pulling away as Dewease with dropping from the event with just two laps to go.

Dietrich scored the victory by 4.677 seconds ahead of Buckwalter, Haas, Brock Zearfoss and Brian Montieth. The 25-lap sprint car feature at the Grove was Dietrich 20th career oval victory, worth $4,080.

Sixth through 10th went to TJ Stutts, Ryan Smith, Anthony Macri, Kyle Moody and Lucas Wolfe.

RACE: 30-lap ULMS Super Late Model Feature WINNER: Rick Eckert, York, Pa.


DATE: March 30

RACE: 25-lap 410 Super Sprint Feature WINNER: Freddie Rahmer, Salfordville, Pa. CARROLL FINISHER: 10th Steve Owings, Westminster

RACE NOTES: Rahmer started sixth with Joe Kata started on the pole with Cole Young on the outside of row 1. Glenndon Forsythe and Tyler Esh made up row two. Kata got a good start and had the lead with Forsythe up to second when the caution came out on lap 1. Esh got sideways in turn 1 and collected Jim Siegel. Todd Gracey, who was running his 360 Sprint Car, pulled into the pits under the caution ending his night. Both Esh and Siegel pulled in parallel to their pit stalls indicating they wanted to utilize the two-minute work period. Siegel ended up pulling into his pit as there was too much damage to the No. 59. Esh was able to rejoin the field.

Rahmer was up to 4th from his 6th starting spot on the restart. Last week’s feature winner, Alan Krimes, started 9th and had made his way to 6th for the restart. After the restart, Rahmer made his way up to 3rd on lap 2. Kyle Moody started working his way through the field from his 12th starting spot and was up to 9th in two laps. Kata started to pull away from the field as Rahmer made his way up to second on lap 4.

Rahmer started to close the gap to Kata as they approached lapped traffic on lap 8. Rahmer had Kata’s lead down to .6 seconds and got under Kata in turns 3 and 4 on lap 11 but couldn’t complete the pass. Freddie stuck around and got by Joe for the lead coming out of turn 2 on the next lap. Rahmer to pull away Kata and rest of the field. It took Freddie one lap to put 2 seconds between him and second place.

The next caution of the race came on lap 15 for Brian Montieth and Brett Michalski in turn 4. Montieth had been running 5th and had made it a 4-car battle for second with Kata, Glenndon Forsythe and Adam Wilt. Both Montieth and Michalski were able to rejoin the field.

The restart with 10 laps to go erased Rahmer’s lead, but lots of action as Wilt got around Forsythe for third and Moody had worked his way up to seventh. Wilt got around Kata for second on lap 22. Forsythe and Tim Glatfelter were right there to make it a three-way battle for third with Kata. Glatfelter eventually came out of the pack with third place with two laps to go.

Rahmer got to the checkered flag first for the win of the season, with Wilt crossing the line second. Glatfelter held onto third, Kyle Moody made his way up to fourth and Forsythe held onto fifth.


RACE: 20-lap 358 Sprint Car Feature WINNER: Jeff Halligan, Ephrata, Pa.

RACE NOTES: Halligan started on the pole of Saturday Night’s feature and led every lap to get his first win of the season. Tyler Walton finished second, Ashley Cappetta third, Kevin Nouse fourth, and Tyler Ross fifth.


DATE: March 30

RACE: 20-lap Late Model Sportsman Feature WINNER: Scott Palmer, Greencastle, Pa.

RACE: 20-lap Pure Stock Feature WINNER: Joey Zambotti, Kittaning, Pa.

RACE: 15-lap Hobby Stock Feature WINNER: Kevin Thomas, Greencastle, Pa

RACE: 15-lap U-Cars Feature WINNER: Matt Worley

RACE: 20-lap Sportman Modified Feature WINNER: Jimmy Iser


DATE: March 30

RACE: 25-lap Weikert Livestock 410 Super Sprint Feature WINNER: Ryan Taylor, Perkasie, Pa.

RACE NOTES: Taylor went to victory lane at the track since capturing the biggest victory of his career in the 2013 Dream Race worth $11,580. Taylor is a multiple time winner at the Port Royal Speedway. With five career wins at The Port, Taylor knows his way to victory lane with today’s worth $3,600. Taylor lead flag to flag for 25 laps on a daytime surface to best weekend invader held off Dale Blaney and Lucas Wolfe to claim his 6th career 410 Sprint series victory at the Juniata County oval.

Behind Blaney, it was Wolfe, Anthony Macri and last season’s track champion Logan Wagner completing the top five. Danny Dietrich, Dylan Cisney, Spencer Bayston, AJ Flick and Tyler Esh rounded out the top 10.

RACE: 30-lap ULMS Super Late Model Feature WINNER: Jeff Rine, Danville, Pa.

RACE NOTES: Following up a season where he was crowned track champion at Port Royal Speedway, Rine picked right back up where 2018 left off when he picked up his first River Valley Builders Super Late Model Series win of the 2019 season at the Port.

Rine, who started seventh, bested Austin Hubbard, Dylan Yoder, Mason Zeigler, and Michael Norris for his 24th career triumph at the speedway, tying him for 10th all-time on the speedway win list with Tom Peck.

RACE: 20-lap Limited Late Model Feature WINNER: Devin Hart, Port Royal, Pa.


TRAIL-WAY SPEEDWAY: April 6, 1 p.m. 270 & 600 cc Micro Sprints, Legend Cars, and PA Micro Midgets; April 12, 7:45 p.m. 358 Sprints, 270 cc Micro Sprints, Street Stocks, and Limited Stocks


WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY: April 12, 7:30 p.m. Tommy Hinnershitz Memorial for 410 Super Sprints plus PASS 305 Sprints

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY: April 6, 7 p.m. 410 Super Sprints, 358 Sprints and Wingless Super Sportsman; April 13 7 p.m. 410 Super Sprints, 358 Sprints, and USAC East Coast Wingless Sprints

PORT ROYAL SPEEDWAY: April 6, 6 p.m. 410 Super Sprints, Late Models, and PASS 305 Sprints; April 12, 6 p.m. Keith Kauffman Classic All Star 410 Super Sprints and Limited Late Models; April 14, 6 p.m. Lucas Oil Late Models $10,000 to win plus Limited Late Models

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY: April 6, 6 p.m. 360 Sprint, Super Late Models, Pro Stocks, and Roadrunners; April 13, 6 p.m. 360 Sprints, Super Late Models, Pro Stocks, and Roadrunners

HAGERSTOWN SPEEDWAY: April 6, 6 p.m. Late Models, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks, and U-Cars; April 13, 6 p.m. Lucas Oil Late Models plus Pure Stocks