Carroll County Times

Carroll commissioners to elect new president Dec. 5

The Board of Carroll County Commissioners will have a new president when it holds its annual elections Dec. 5.

Current Commissioners President Doug Howard announced in a news release Friday that he will not seek a fourth consecutive term as board president.


Howard said in a statement that he was "pleased and privileged" to serve three consecutive terms as president.

But he also acknowledged "a real divide on the Board" in the areas of education and planning for the future.


"I do not want my strong advocacy for those issues, and the upcoming election and contested races in each of the districts, to interfere with the administration of the Board, and therefore feel that now is the right time to let one of my fellow commissioners take on that role," Howard said.

Besides running the county commissioner meetings, the board president essentially has no more authority or power than their fellow commissioners.

Howard was first elected president of the five-commissioner board in December 2010 before being re-elected in 2011 and 2012.

"I have enjoyed serving as President and believe I have represented my constituents and all county residents well both inside the county and across the state," Howard said in a statement. "I will always take great pride in having been the first board President in this new five commissioner form of government.

In a separate news release Friday, Howard announced that he will be seeking re-election to the Board of County Commissioners in 2014.

The only other current commissioner to file for re-election is Dave Roush, according to the Carroll County Board of Elections.

Commissioner Haven Shoemaker has already announced that he will run for a seat in the House of Delegates in 2014.