Letter: Support these GOP Central Committee candidates

I recently received a mailer from Sheriff Jim DeWees asking me to support candidates on the ballot on Tuesday, June 26 in the Republican primary. At the top was Gov. Hogan, who is running unopposed. There were other familiar names such as Dels. Susan Krebs, April Rose, and Haven Shoemaker, who already have my vote. At the bottom, the Sheriff had nine recommendations for the Republican Central Committee. To be completely honest, I was not as familiar with the Central Committee as I was with the other races. This led me to do some digging of my own and learn more about the Sheriff's picks.

First, Lawrence W. Helminiak, currently the Chair of the Committee and 2nd Vice Chair of the MDGOP also founded and ran Carroll Insulation, one of the largest insulation companies in the United States at the time.


Karen Leatherwood is a conservative activist, owned a local small business, and wrote a Carroll County Times opinion column for several years.

Thom Meads, a resident of Westminster, has been involved with youth rec sports for over a dozen years, and is active as a dedicated member of his church.

Justin Mudgett, born and raised in Carroll County, is Vice President of Mudgett's Auto Body, a local family business in Finksburg.

Fallon E. Patton is a recent Towson University graduate, where she was a leader in the Maryland Federation of College Republicans. Fallon worked as an aide to the current Delegation in Annapolis and helps local candidates get elected.

Seth Shipley is the owner of Shipley's Fine Jewelry in Hampstead and is active in the community as a Hampstead Lion and a member of his church.

Last, Christopher Tomlinson, has helped and led many campaigns at the local, county, and state level including Haven Shoemaker for Delegate, Kathy Szeliga for U.S. Senate, and Larry Hogan for Governor.

I was able to conclude that the Sheriff's picks for Republican Central Committee include some fine folks from all walks of life in Carroll who bring something special to the Committee. I hope that voters can join me in supporting these nine on June 26.

Christine Jeffers