Two current delegates and one newcomer won the Republican nomination for the District 5 House of Delegates, an entirely new district that encompasses the majority of Carroll County.

Justin Ready, Susan Krebs and Haven Shoemaker are the three Republican candidates who will face two Democrats in the November general election. A total of three delegates will be chosen to represent District 5 in the Maryland General Assembly for four years.

The primary election was vastly different than in the past, as newly drawn district lines in Carroll changed the landscape of the county’s House and Senate representations.

The legislature reshaped district boundaries to align with the 2010 U.S. Census. The boundaries essentially funneled most of Carroll’s House of Delegates representation into District 5. A portion of Carroll falls in District 4 — which is mostly Frederick County — and a portion falls in the largely Howard County District 9A.

This forced two incumbent delegates previously in different districts — Elliott and Krebs — to run against each other in the same race with Ready, for one of District 5’s three Republican spots on the November ballot.

The two House Democratic District 5 candidates — Dorothy Scanlan and Zachary Hands — will automatically move on to the general election. Seven Republicans were seeking to move on to the November general election, and voters were allowed to vote for three candidates.

Justin Ready garnered 25 percent (10,300 votes) as of 11:30 p.m Tuesday. Both Susan Krebs and Haven Shoemaker will also move on to the November general election receiving 18.1 percent with 7,448 and 17.4 percent with 7,143 votes respectively.

Joshua Stonko received 13.8 percent or 5,668 votes as of 11:30 p.m.

Donald Elliott received 9.6 percent or 3,935 votes as of 11:30 p.m. He has been serving Carroll and Frederick residents as a District 4B delegate since 1987, according to Maryland State Archives website. The redistricting made a real difference in the election, he said, and he knew this race would be a challenge.

“It’s been a great run for me,” he said. “It’s been a real honor to have served Carroll County for nearly three decades.”

Kevin Utz trailed him at 9.4 percent or 3,882 votes as of 11:30 p.m.

Trailing him was Carmen Amedori — a previous Carroll delegate from 1999 to 2004 — netting 2,738 votes or 6.7 percent of the total votes cast as of 11:30 p.m..

The new district is larger geographically, Ready said, requiring candidates to campaign in areas they hadn’t in the past.

“I really enjoyed it,” Ready said. “I got to know so many people and hear so many different perspectives.”

If he wins a delegate seat in the general election, it will be his second term serving Carroll County in Annapolis. He has a record of voting against tax increases, he said, which he believes served him well in Tuesday’s primary.

“I think, No. 1 is I promised — and I delivered on this promise — that I would not vote to raise people’s taxes,” Ready said. “Maryland is extremely overtaxed.”

Krebs has served three terms as delegate, representing the eliminated District 9B that mostly covered South Carroll. It’s disappointing that these residents won’t have a strictly Carroll representative, she said, though she’s excited to move on to the November election.

Serving on the Health and Government Operations Committee has been one of her biggest accomplishments during her tenure as delegate, she said. She’s worked closely with Carroll Hospital Center to make the hospital not just a place to go when a resident is sick, but to go to help prevent disease.

“We are really on the cutting edge in Carroll County on health-care reform in focusing on wellness,” she said.

For Shoemaker, it’ll be his first time serving as a state delegate if he wins one of the three seats in the general election. He began his political career as Hampstead mayor and currently serves on the Board of Carroll County Commissioners — experiences that he said will serve him well in Annapolis.

“I’ve been able to, as I believe, as a county commissioner to forge a consensus with some rather diverse personalities at the county level,” he said. “I expect that should uniquely qualify me to go to Annapolis and forge a consensus and try to get things done at the state level, so that’s my objective.”

Other districts

House of Delegates, District 4

Republicans Kathy Afzali, Kelly Schulz and David E. Vogt and Democrat Gene Stanton will face off in the general election for three seats in the House of Delegates for District 4, which includes a portion of western Carroll County.

State Senate, District 4

Republican Michael Hough defeated David Brinkley, the Senate minority leader, for the Republican nomination in the general election. He will face Democrat Dan Rupli in the general election in November. District 4 includes a portion of western Carroll County.

House of Delegates, District 9A

Republicans Warren E. Miller and Trent Kittleman were the leading vote-getters, however, several precincts in Howard County had not yet been counted, according to the State Board of Elections website. It was too close to call as of 11:30 p.m. The two-leading Republican vote-getters will face Democrats Walter Carson and James Ward Morrow in the general election. District 9A includes a portion of southeastern Carroll County.

State Senate, District 9

Ryan Frederic was leading Daniel L. Medinger for the Democratic nomination, however no election day votes in Howard County had been tabulated, according to the State Board of Elections website, as of 11:30 p.m. The leading Democrat will face Republican Gail Bates in November’s general election. District 9 includes a portion of southeastern Carroll County.

Getty, Riley to face off in general election

Republican Joe Getty and Democrat Anita Riley will run against each other for the District 5 Senate seat in November, as neither candidate faced a challenger in Tuesday's primary election.

Getty, the seat's incumbent, received 12,510 votes as of 11:30 p.m. Tuesday. Riley received 4,327, according to the State Board of Elections website.

The District 5 senator represents the majority of Carroll County and serves a four-year term in the Maryland General Assembly.