Six candidates filed by Monday’s deadline and are running for office in the City of Westminster’s upcoming municipal election, to be held May 14.

Three seats on the Common Council are up for election in 2019, with incumbent Councilman Greg Pecoraro running for a second consecutive term. Joining him in the race are former councilman and mayor Kevin Earl Dayhoff, Kate Carter, Steve Colella, Ann Thomas Gilbert and Jessica Laird.


Carter is a former member of the Westminster City Public Safety Advisory Council and has worked on local and Maryland gubernatorial political campaigns, she wrote in an email. The Westminster native currently works in information technology.

Originally from Mount Airy, Colella moved to Westminster in 2015, he wrote in an email. He is currently a business consultant with the Carroll County for America’s Small Business Development Center and was previously the director of economic development for the town of Sykesville.

Dayhoff first served on the common council from 1999 until 2001, when he was elected mayor, serving in that capacity until 2005. Dayhoff has been a member of the Westminster fire company since 2001, he said, and volunteers as a fire, police and military chaplain. He has written for the Baltimore Sun Media Group, of which the Times is a part, since 2004, and is currently on a leave of absence.

Gilbert is a Westminster native who has worked for the Department of Social Services for more than 20 years in different positions, she wrote in an email, most recently as an adult protective service worker. She has served the past two years on the Westminster safety committee.

Laird has served in civic, but no governmental positions in several jurisdictions, including as a part of the Norfolk Environmental Commission’s Green Team in Norfolk, Virginia, and as part of the Economic and Business Development Committee in Auburn, Alabama, she wrote in an email. Since 2013, Laird has been a major gifts officer in the Office of Institutional Advancement at McDaniel College.

Taneytown candidates discuss police chief position, economic development at election forum

The seven men running for office in Taneytown’s upcoming municipal elections spent two hours Monday evening answering questions in a forum held at the Taneytown Senior and Community Center.

Pecoraro has served on and off the common council for more than two decades, serving from 1994 to 2003, 2005 to 2011, and then 2015 to the present, he said. He has worked in both state government and on Capital Hill, in D.C., and currently handles state and federal government affairs for the American Motorcyclist Association.

The three candidates elected will serve a term of four years. Mona Becker and Robert Wack, currently on the council with terms expiring, elected not to run again.

A candidates forum is tentatively scheduled for May 8.

Voting will take place from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. on May 14, with voters living west of Md. 31 casting their ballots at the community building at 325 Royer Road, and those living east of Md. 31 voting at the Westminster volunteer fire company, at 28 John St.

Absentee ballot requests must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, May 6. For more information, visit or call City Clerk Shannon Visocsky at 410-848-4938.