Carroll County Times
Carroll County News

Taneytown to see four-way race for mayor in May election; Mount Airy and Manchester fields set

The municipal elections in Taneytown will be contested this year, with four candidates running for mayor, according to information provided by the city clerk.

Current Mayor Jim McCarron is officially running for a fourth term, while current Councilmen Bradley Wantz and Donald Frazier, as well as former Councilman Paul Chamberlain, will seek to unseat him on Election Day, May 6.


Frazier and Wantz have served on the council since 2015. Prior to that, Wantz served on the Taneytown Board of Zoning Appeal from 2013 to 2015. Chamberlain previously served on the Taneytown council from 2005 to 2009.

Both Wantz and Frazier would have been up for re-election to continue serving on the Taneytown City Council. But because they are running for mayor, two seats are now open on the Taneytown council, and three men — Barry Guckes, Daniel Haines and Darryl Hale — are running for those two seats.


Hale previously served two terms on the council, beginning in 1999, and again after winning re-election in 2003.

Haines is currently the chairman of the Taneytown Parks and Recreation Advisory Board.

Guckes has no previous political experience but served 21 years in uniform in both the Army and Navy, and another 20 as a civilian at the National Security Agency before retiring in November 2017. He has lived in Taneytown since 2015.

Residents must register by April 8 with the Carroll County Board of Elections to vote in the election. Absentee ballots will be available by April 15.

The election will be held from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on May 6, at the Taneytown Police Department at 120 E. Baltimore St.

Two other jurisdictions have candidate fields set thus far.

Mount Airy

Four candidates are running for three open seats on the Mount Airy Town Council, according to a town administrative assistant.

Carroll County Breaking News

Carroll County Breaking News

As it happens

When big news breaks, be the first to know.

The council seats occupied by Bob King, Jason Poirier and Council President Peter Helt are up for election.


Karl Munder, John Stuehmeier and Pamela Reed are running for election to the council, and Poirier is aiming to retain his seat. Munder ran for a council seat in 2017, Stuehmeier is a police sergeant and Reed is president of the Mount Airy Main Street Association.

Town residents must register to vote with the Carroll County or Frederick County elections boards. Once they've registered with their county, they're automatically eligible to vote in the town election. Voter registration is open through April 8.

Absentee ballots are expected to be prepared by April 15, said Debbie Parker Brennan, the town clerk.

Mount Airy’s Election Day is set for May 6. Voting will be held at the Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company Activities Building at 1008 Twin Arch Road.


Manchester will hold an election for the mayor and two council members on May 21.

The incumbents — Mayor Ryan Warner and Councilmembers Vincent Pacelli and Jennifer Warner — are running unopposed.