Carroll County Times
Carroll County News

Incumbent Ed Rothstein declares victory in Carroll County commissioners race

Carroll County Commissioner Ed Rothstein, the only incumbent in the race this year to fill seats on the five-member county board, declared victory Wednesday in his reelection bid.

Rothstein, a Republican, faced two opponents in the primary. There were no Democratic candidates in District 5, which is in the southeast portion of the county, and includes Eldersburg and Sykesville.


With early voting and Election Day voting reports in, Rothstein had 1,741 votes (54.71%), followed by Kate M. Maerten with 988 (31.05%), and Cathey Allison with 453 (14.24%).

“I am honored and humbled to have won this election,” Rothstein said. “I really believe in leadership, and I thank my friends and Carroll Countians for coming out to the ballot box.”


Candidates in other county districts were also far ahead of the pack going into Thursday’s mail-in ballot count.

Carroll County Breaking News

Carroll County Breaking News

As it happens

When big news breaks, be the first to know.

In District 1, which includes Taneytown and New Windsor, where all five candidates are Republicans, Joe Vigliotti, mayor pro tem and a member of the Taneytown City Council, had the lead with 1,566 votes (46.22%). Ray Fava followed with 989 (29.19%), Thomas E. Irwin Jr., earned 590 (17.41%), Sean Shaffer had 131 (3.87%), and Jesse A. Gibson had 112 (3.31%).

County school board President Ken Kiler of Manchester held a commanding lead over Dave Reese Sr., of Hampstead in the District 2 race. Kiler had 2,329 votes (60.27%) to Reese’s 1,535 (39.73%). Both are Republicans and no Democrats were on the ballot. District 2 encompasses most of the northeast section of the county.

District 3 had the only Democrat in the commissioners’ race, Zach Hands of Westminster, who will compete against the winner of the Republican primary. Republican Tom Gordon of Westminster had the most votes as of Wednesday, with 1,373 (52.67%), compared to school board member Marsha B. Herbert, who had 1,234 (47.33%).

Gordon offered thanks to his supporters.

“Yesterday was a day that brought out childhood neighbors who I haven’t seen in 40 years and a dear family friend who decided to turn out and vote after a recent hospital stay,” Gordon said in an email. “I appreciate the voters having the confidence in me to represent the people of Carroll County and to bring about the needed changes. Together we can and will accomplish great things. We are waiting steadfast as the Board of Elections finalizes the results.”


In District 4, which includes Woodbine and part of Mount Airy, the two candidates are Republicans. Michael R. Guerin, of Mount Airy finished Tuesday with 2,532 votes (83.21%). His challenger, Carl Keener of Woodbine, finished a distant second, with 511 votes (16.79%).

Carroll County election officials will begin counting mail-in ballots at 10 a.m., Thursday and will continue tallying until the election is certified on July 29. Ballots can be counted as long as they have a July 19 postmark or were in a drop box by 8 p.m. on July 19.