Carroll County Times
Carroll County News

Dozens of Carroll County students recognized as Carson scholars

Carroll County Public Schools announced the list of dozens of local students who were chosen as Carson scholars for 2019.

The students, selected by the Carson Scholars Fund, are rewarded with $1,000 college scholarships for outstanding academic achievement and demonstration of humanitarian qualities.


Students in grades 4-11 are eligible. After being named a Carson Scholar, students may apply to renew their status in following years — they are then designated as Recognized Scholars, though that does not include additional scholarship money.

Nationwide, 505 students became Carson Scholars in 2019. Thirty-seven of those were CCPS students. Seventy-seven of the 878 students earning the title of 2019 Recognized Scholars were from CCPS.


The students named Carson Scholars for the first time are listed below:

Hannah Bauer10Century High School
Charlotte Benfer5Mt. Airy Elementary School
Edwin Blyden8Oklahoma Road Middle School
Jason Cebulski11Manchester Valley High School
Emma Chaney6Northwest Middle School
Desiree Classing5Manchester Elementary School
Dakota Clemens5Winfield Elementary School
Mya Darby8North Carroll Middle School
Natalie Eckles9Winters Mill High School
Mackenzie Hurley5Taneytown Elementary School
Anna Kachik5Sandymount Elementary School
Alizeh Khan7Westminster West Middle School
Elizabeth Kinloch5Elmer Wolfe Elementary School
Allison Leimkuhler8Sykesville Middle School
Ashtyn Logue5William Winchester Elementary School
Kamryn Malle4Hampstead Elementary School
Adam Maney5Eldersburg Elementary School
Corinne Michael5Friendship Valley Elementary School
Keira Milam7Westminster East Middle School
Rachel Mountcastle5Spring Garden Elementary School
Matthew Muse5Westminster Elementary School
Jamyson Myers5Ebb Valley Elementary School
Zachary Neuman5Mechanicsville Elementary School
Maxwell Novak8Mt. Airy Middle School
Caitlin O'Dea10Liberty High School
Liam O'Dwyer5Robert Moton Elementary School
Benjamin Pandullo4Carrolltowne Elementary School
Avery Pelletier7Shiloh Middle School
Charlotte Prunkl5Linton Springs Elementary School
Syed Reza5Piney Ridge Elementary School
Madeline Schiavi10Francis Scott Key High School
Amanda Steele10Westminster High School
William Streaker10South Carroll High School
Cooper Trump5Freedom District Elementary School
Logan Walker5Elmer Wolfe Elementary School
Abigail Wood5Runnymede Elementary School
Kiera Youngling5Cranberry Station Elementary School

The Recognized Scholars who successfully renewed their status are listed below:

ScholarGradeSchool# of times won
Katelyn Abell7Mt. Airy Middle School3
Ashley Asiedu11Century High School4
Julia Bacon7Oklahoma Road Middle School3
Kensi Bancroft6Northwest Middle School2
Alexander Barnes12Winters Mill High School5
Nathaniel Barr6Oklahoma Road Middle School2
Caroline Beakes8Westminster West Middle School3
Caleb Booker6Oklahoma Road Middle School2
Logan Brightful7Mt. Airy Middle School3
Samantha Callahan6Shiloh Middle School2
Kylie Coder6Westminster East Middle School2
Kyla Dawson6Westminster West Middle School2
Hunter Dicke9Manchester Valley High School3
Mackenzie Dicke9Manchester Valley High School2
Erica Egleston10Liberty High School4
Hailey Facchine5Hampstead Elementary School2
Jolie Feltz9Liberty High School2
Colin Flanagan6Westminster West Middle School2
Ryan Fleming8Sykesville Middle School4
Evan French6Shiloh Middle School2
Gabriella Fritz12Francis Scott Key High School4
Alexander Geist8Sykesville Middle School3
Marissa George12Westminster High School2
Makenzie Greenwood6Shiloh Middle School3
Kaylee Harris6Northwest Middle School2
Kyra Hawes8Shiloh Middle School4
Sara Hawley9Westminster High School5
Alexa Hayman12Westminster High School3
Julia Hayunga8Oklahoma Road Middle School4
Emily Hernandez11Manchester Valley High School4
Lucylle Hott7North Carroll Middle School3
Audrey Houle8Westminster West Middle School4
Lydia Houle10Westminster High School3
Avery Houle12Westminster High School6
Claire Kettula10South Carroll High School3
Ali Khan6Westminster West Middle School3
Ashlynn Kidwell8Sykesville Middle School2
Audrey King7Westminster West Middle School3
Ryan Kirkpatrick9Winters Mill High School6
Morgan Kresslein10Manchester Valley High School3
Maya Kreymer8Westminster East Middle School3
Isabelle Leimkuhler12Century High School4
Alyssa Leishear7Westminster East Middle School3
Keely Lockwood8Westminster East Middle School2
Juliana Lopez9Century High School3
Dane Lyons7Northwest Middle School3
John Manley7Shiloh Middle School3
Peyton McCain12Liberty High School2
Delaney McCorkill5Carrolltowne Elementary School2
Quinn McIver9Winters Mill High School4
Faith Mohr7Westminster East Middle School4
Amara Mohr5Cranberry Station Elementary School2
Abigail Neitch10Liberty High School2
Marie Overman8Westminster East Middle School4
Cyndi-Jo Phelps6Westminster East Middle School3
Isabella Pietryak6North Carroll Middle School2
David Rapids10South Carroll High School4
Hayden Rathmann7Mt. Airy Middle School2
Brady Rhodes8Northwest Middle School4
Savannah Richey9Winters Mill High School2
Patrick Rippeon10Francis Scott Key High School3
Addison Roach7Northwest Middle School3
Morgan Robbins7Westminster West Middle School3
Chloe Robbins7Westminster West Middle School4
Allayna Safley8North Carroll Middle School4
Emily Schildwachter10Francis Scott Key High School4
Elizabeth Scott11Francis Scott Key High School3
Elyse Seligman7Sykesville Middle School3
Avery Selivan7Northwest Middle School3
Ruth (Olivia) Sprinkle7Shiloh Middle School4
Makenna Steele7Shiloh Middle School4
Gabrielle Stine8Northwest Middle School4
Michael Valerio6Mt. Airy Middle School2
Allison Wallach8Mt. Airy Middle School4
Hannah Wolford6North Carroll Middle School2
Austin Zeigenfuse7North Carroll Middle School3