Carroll County Times
Carroll County News

David Ellin concedes Carroll County state’s attorney race to Shoemaker

David Ellin conceded the Republican primary for Carroll County State’s Attorney Friday to his opponent, Del. Haven Shoemaker. Ellin said the vote count shows that the race is over for him.

Shoemaker had declared victory on Wednesday, just one day after the July 19 primary.


As of Friday, in the hotly contested state’s attorney’s race, Shoemaker, a two-term state delegate, continued to hold the lead with 11,105 votes (57.37%). Ellin had 8,252 votes (42.63%).

Since there are no Democrats in the race, Shoemaker will be the next state’s attorney.


On Thursday, 10 two-person teams of bipartisan election judges began opening and counting 8,068 mail-in ballots at the Board of Elections in Westminster. There are now only 1,462 mail-in ballots and 641 provisional ballots left to count in Carroll County as of Friday afternoon.

Katherine Berry, election director for Carroll County, said provisional ballots will be counted Wednesday and any remaining mail-in ballots will be counted on Friday before the Board of Elections certifies the results.

Berry said counting began at 10 a.m., Thursday and finished at 8 p.m. Everything went well and there were no problems, she added.

Carroll County Breaking News

Carroll County Breaking News

As it happens

When big news breaks, be the first to know.

Positioning of candidates in the Board of Carroll County Commissioners primary remained unchanged after adding in mail-in ballot totals.

In District 1, which includes Taneytown and New Windsor, all five candidates are Republicans. Joe Vigliotti, mayor pro tem of the Taneytown City Council, has held onto his lead with 1,839 votes (47.43%). Ray Fava follows with 1,055 (27.21%), Thomas E. Irwin, Jr., 670 (17.28%), Sean Shaffer, 174 (4.49%), and Jesse A. Gibson, 139 (3.59%).

Carroll County school board President Ken Kiler of Manchester continued to hold the lead over Dave Reese Sr., of Hampstead in the District 2 Republican primary. Kiler had 2,643 votes (59.43%) to Reese’s 1,804 (40.57%) as of Friday. No Democrats were on the ballot. District 2 encompasses most of the northeast section of the county.

District 3 had the only Democrat in the commissioner’s race. Zach Hands of Westminster will compete against the winner of the Republican primary. Republican Tom Gordon of Westminster retained his lead with 1,638 votes (52.92%), compared to school board member Marsha B. Herbert, with 1,457 (47.08%).

In District 4, which includes Woodbine and part of Mount Airy, Michael R. Guerin of Mount Airy has 2,898 votes (82.78%) while Carl Keener of Woodbine has 603 (17.22%). Both are Republicans.


Carroll County Commissioner Ed Rothstein, the only incumbent in the race, remains in the lead in the Republican primary for District 5, which includes Eldersburg and Sykesville.

Rothstein’s vote total so far is 2,088 (56.55%), while Kate M. Maerten has 1,083 (29.33%), followed by Cathey Allison with 521 (14.11%).