A discarded sticker lies on the ground outside Westminster West Middle School on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016.
A discarded sticker lies on the ground outside Westminster West Middle School on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016. (DYLAN SLAGLE/STAFF PHOTO / Carroll County Times)

Carroll County voters will notice a few changes during the 2018 elections. The county has added a second early voting center as well as an additional polling place in Taneytown.

Early voting for the primary will take place June 14 through 21 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., including Saturday and Sunday, said Katherine Berry, director of the Carroll County Board of Elections.


Primary election day is June 26, and polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Early voting for the general election will from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Oct. 25 to Nov. 1, including Saturday and Sunday. General election day is Nov. 6, with polls open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Voters in Carroll County will be able to cast early ballots at either the Westminster Senior and Community Center, 125 Stoner Ave., Westminster, or the South Carroll Swim Club, 1900 W. Liberty Road, Winfield.

Those who previously voted at Northwest Middle School may be reassigned to a new polling place at Taneytown Elementary School, 100 Kings Drive, Taneytown. Updated notification cards should have been received by voters in July. Berry said close of registration for changing one’s party, becoming a new voter or changing one’s address is June 5.

Candidates must file by Feb. 27, Berry said.

While many will focus on the governor’s race and congressional contests, there are multiple county-level elections to be decided. As of 4 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 4, with less than eight weeks before the filing deadline, only a few races have multiple candidates.

The race to represent Carroll County’s District 5 in the Maryland House of Delegates is the most crowded thus far. Incumbents Susan Krebs, Haven Shoemaker and April Rose — all Republicans — are seeking re-election to the three seats. Republican David Ellin, of Finksburg, will provide a primary challenge and Democrat Emily Shenk, of Eldersburg, recently filed to represent District 5 as well. District 5 state Sen. Justin Ready, a Republican, has also filed for re-election and is currently unopposed.

Portions of Carroll are also represented by District 4 to the west and District 9A to the south. Barrie Ciliberti, a Republican, is the only one of three incumbents thus far to file for re-election to the House in District 4, where Republicans Dan Cox, of Emmitsburg, and Jesse Pippy, of Frederick, have also filed, along with Frederick Democrat Darrin Ryan Smith. In District 9A, Republican incumbents Trent Kittleman and Warren Miller are seeking re-election to the two seats there, and Democrat Natalie Ziegler has also filed.

In the state Senate, Republican Michael Hough has filed for re-election in District 4, while District 9 incumbent Republican Gail Bates and Democrat Katie Fry Hester have filed.

Voters in all five county commissioner districts will cast ballots for their commissioner, choosing just the third board under the five-commissioner format. Incumbents Stephen Wantz, R-District 1; Richard Weaver, R-District 2, and Dennis Frazier, R-District 3, are each seeking re-election in their respective districts. Thus far, Frazier is the only one of the three to have a primary challenger, Republican Tom Gordon, of Westminster.

Republicans Frank Robert and Ed Rothstein, both of Sykesville, are both running for the seat in District 5, currently held by Doug Howard. No one has filed for the seat in District 4, currently held by Richard Rothschild.

School board president will not run in 2018; some up for re-election still undecided

With just under five months to the filing deadline, local leaders are beginning to making decisions about whether to run in the 2018 election.

Two candidates have filed for the nonpartisan Board of Education — Tara Battaglia and Mary Kowalski — where there will be three seats on the line. Incumbent Virginia Harrison cannot run again because of recently passed legislation limiting BOE members to two terms, while Devon Rothschild announced in October she would not seek a second term. Board of Education President Bob Lord’s seat is the third up for election, and he had not filed as of Thursday.

In the judicial branch of local government, incumbent Republicans Brian DeLeonardo, Jim DeWees and Paul Zimmerman are seeking re-election to the offices of state’s attorney, sheriff and register of wills, respectively. No challengers have filed for any of those seats. So far, there have been no candidate filings for the three judicial seats of the Orphans' Court, the county’s probate court or for clerk of the Circuit Court.

There have also been no filings as of yet for judge of the Circuit Court. Gov. Larry Hogan appointed Richard Titus to the bench in 2016 after the retirement of Judge Michael Galloway, but he must run in the upcoming election to continue serving. If re-elected, judges serve a term of 15 years.


For questions about voting, contact the Carroll County Board of Elections at 410-386-2080 or visit www.ccgovernment.carr.org/ccg/electionboard.