Alexander Wikner, of Eldersburg, made the 2015 fall semester President's Honor Roll at Rice University in Houston.

James Madison University students embarked on 25 alternative spring break trips around the country and world from March 5 through 12, spending the week serving others and submerging themselves in the culture of the areas they visited.


Sarah Eline, of Hampstead, scheduled to graduate in 2019, traveled to Macon, Georgia, to volunteer with Fuller Center. Kelsey Granger, of Finksburg, scheduled to graduate this year, traveled to Orick, California, to volunteer with Redwoods National and State Park. Allison Gibson, of Westminster, scheduled to graduate this year, traveled to West Milford, New Jersey, to volunteer with Vacamas Program for Youth.

Madison Pierson, of Sykesville, and Rebecca Weinschenk, of Eldersburg, were among the students at the University of Delaware who raised $1.7 million for pediatric cancer research at UDance, one of the nation's largest dance marathon fundraisers, March 13. Students raised $1,701,667.81 for the Wilmington, Delaware-based Andrew McDonough B+ Foundation. UDance is the fifth-largest college dance marathon in the country.

Amanda Shannon, of Eldersburg, earned dean's list at Marquette University, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for the fall 2015 semester.

Jesse Noland, of Hampstead, and Cynthia Cook, of Mount Airy, earned dean's list at Concordia University, in St. Paul, Minnesota, for the fall 2015 semester.

Holley Welker, of New Windsor, has received the Back to School Scholarship from Western Governors University, a nonprofit, online university.

Susquehanna University graphic design students won 22 out of 33 awards presented at the Greater Frederick Advertising Federation Student ADDY Awards held on Feb. 23 at the Springfield Manor Winery & Distillery in Thurmont. The annual ADDY competition recognizes creative excellence in advertising by both students and professionals.

Michael Farina, of Woodbine, was awarded a Student Gold Award for a piece titled "Theater Poster for Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman," a Student Gold Award for a piece titled "Badlands Black Malt Beer Packaging," a Student Silver Award for a piece titled "Grand Adventure Travel Company Identity and Stationery," a Student Silver Award for a piece titled "Print Ad Campaign for the History Channel's Mountain Men," and a Student Silver Award for a piece titled "Ocean Conservancy Annual Report."

Rebecca Russell, of Westminster, a senior at Winters Mill High School, has earned the Veronica Founder's Scholarship to study occupational therapy at Alvernia University, in Reading, Pennsylvania, in the fall.

The following students from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as Carson Scholars for 2016. Each year, the Carson Scholars Fund recognizes high achieving students in grades 4-11 who demonstrate academic excellence and humanitarianism. First-time Scholars receive a $1,000 college scholarship award. After winning the scholarship, a student may apply to renew their Carson Scholar status.

First-Time Scholars — Ashley Asiedu, grade 8, of Sykesville Middle School; Lauren Bahnsen, grade 11, of South Carroll High School; Abigail Baum, grade 5, of William Winchester Elementary School; Caroline Beakes, grade 5, of Westminster Elementary School; Brendan Cave, grade 8, of Mount Airy Middle School; Erica Egleston, grade 7, of Oklahoma Road Middle School; Emily Eiler, grade 10, of Winters Mill High School; Matthew Fairchild, grade 9, of North Carroll High School; Colten Feezer, grade 5, of Ebb Valley Elementary School; Ryan Fleming, grade 5, of Piney Ridge Elementary School; Gabriella Fritz, grade 9, of Francis Scott Key High School; Alexander Geist, grade 5, of Linton Springs Elementary School; Kyra Hawes, grade 5, of Sandymount Elementary School; Julia Hayunga, grade 5, of Eldersburg Elementary School; Emily Hernandez, grade 8, of Shiloh Middle School; Audrey Houle, grade 5, of Mechanicsville Elementary School; Maya Lee, 9, of Liberty High School; Isabelle Leimkuhler, grade 9, of Century High School; Quinn McIver, grade 6, of Westminster East Middle School; Faith Mohr, grade 4, of Cranberry Station Elementary School; Carley Morris, grade 5, of Mount Airy Elementary School; Samantha Morris, grade 9, of Manchester Valley High; Marie Overman, grade 5, of Charles Carroll Elementary School; Aaliyah Pinkney, grade 5, of Taneytown Elementary School; David Rapids, grade 7, of New Windsor Middle School; Brady Rhodes, grade 5, of Runnymede Elementary School; Chloe Robbins, grade 4, of Friendship Valley Elementary School; Phillip Sackett, grade 5, of Freedom District Elementary School; Allayna Safley, grade 5, of Manchester Elementary School; Emily Schildwachter, grade 7, of Northwest Middle School; Carson Snyder, grade 7, of Westminster West Middle School; Ruth (Olivia) Sprinkle, grade 4, of Hampstead Elementary School; Makenna Steele, grade 4, of Spring Garden Elementary School; Victoria Stephan, grade 4, of Robert Moton Elementary School; Gabrielle Stine, grade 5, of Elmer Wolfe Elementary School; Allison Wallach, grade 5, of Winfield Elementary School; Grace Warner, grade 7, of North Carroll Middle School; Diana Welliver, grade 11, of Westminster High School.

Recognized Scholars — Alexander Barnes, grade 9, of Winters Mill High School, won twice; Cameron Ducey, grade 11, of Liberty High School, won four times; Kylah Fanning, grade 12, of Winters Mill High School, won twice; Abigail Fowler, grade 12, of Francis Scott Key High School, won twice; Sara Hawley, grade 6, of Shiloh Middle School, won twice; Avery Houle, grade 9, of Westminster High School, won three times; Ryan Kirkpatrick, grade 6, of Westminster East Middle School, won three times; Jennifer Nguyen, grade 10, of North Carroll High School, won six times; Nathan Saurusaitis, grade 12, of Manchester Valley High, won eight times; Caleb Shumpert, grade 12, of Century High School, won twice.