In school
Gerstell Academy students participated in the Ninth annual Mid-Atlantic Regional High School Ethics Bowl sponsored by the Hoffberger Center for Professional Ethics at the University of Baltimore William H. Thumel Business Center Feb. 13. Five upper school students and two alternates participated in three rounds of competition against teams from the Baltimore area. _Gerstell students won all three sessions, against Baltimore City College, Sparrows Point High School Blue Team, and Owings Mills High School, and came in second place overall. Pictured from left, are: 10th-grader John Page, Upper School leadership teacher Dane Menges, 10th-grader Colt Hanlin, 10th-grader Grant Vaeth, 10th-grader Brandon Tan, 12th-grader Erika Tan, 12th-grader Sabrina Shkolnik, and 10th-grader Zachary Brendler._- Original Credit: Submitted photo (HANDOUT)

Michael Farina, of Woodbine, spent time in Nepal over winter break as part of the Susquehanna University's Global Opportunities program.

Emma Kumpf, of Finksburg, and Tiffany Michel, of Manchester, earned dean's list at The College of New Jersey, in Ewing, New Jersey, for the fall 2015 semester.


Elisabeth Wise, of Eldersburg, earned dean's list at the University of New Hampshire, in Durham, for the fall 2015 semester.

The following Carroll County residents earned dean's list at Frostburg State University for the fall 2015 semester: Joseph Becraft, of New Windsor; Collin Beder, of Westminster; Melanie Bell, of Sykesville; Rebecca Bowers, of Hampstead; Forest Brach, of Sykesville; Nicole Bradford, of Sykesville; Jeremy Brown, of Hampstead; Grace Daigle, of Woodbine; Lucas Devine, of Eldersburg; Brooke Ende, of Sykesville; Ellen Engle, of Eldersburg; Katie Epps, of Sykesville; Katherine Garst, of Union Bridge; Eric Gontrum, of Eldersburg; Imani Jones, of Sykesville; Lacey Jones, of Westminster; Garrett Kemery, of Taneytown; Brendan Krivak, of Hampstead; Spenser Love, of Westminster; Heather Lowe, of Westminster; Sarah Maggitti, of Westminster; Rachel McGowan, of Woodbine; Kelsey Meadows, of Sykesville; Jessica Prejean, of Westminster; Rebecca Reimer, of Taneytown; Abbey Rigney, of Hampstead; Michelle Rogers, of Westminster; Aaron Roy, of Manchester; Erickson Schmidt, of Eldersburg; Allison Short, of Hampstead; Sarah Sparks, of Sykesville; Amy Virostek, of Westminster; Taylor Wade, of New Windsor; Aili Wade, of New Windsor; Sabrina Wasfi, of Eldersburg; Garrett Wiles, of Union Bridge; and Matthew Yakel, of Westminster.

The following Carroll County residents earned dean's list at St. Mary's College of Maryland, in St. Mary's City, for the fall 2015 semester: Katherine Vervack, of Eldersburg; Katherine Horton, of Finksburg; Meagan Blizzard, Tyler Haynie and Lauren Swam, of Hampstead; Hannah Dickmyer, of Lineboro; Michael Raimond, of Manchester; Eliza Fletcher, Courtney Mellon and Caroline Robertson, of Mount Airy; Victoria Furbay, of Union Bridge; Nicholas Custodio, Mackenzie Nargiz, Reed Rhoads, Andrew Riehl, Alison Shimoda, Henry Snurr and Allison Tesch, of Westminster.

The following county students were named to the Middle Atlantic Conference's Fall Academic Honor Roll at Lebanon Valley College, in Annville, Pennsylvania: Hannah Kurek, of Millers; Mackenzie Murray, of Finksburg; and Samantha Bost, of Eldersburg.

Victor Ellifritt, a student at Century High School, has been selected to represent Woodbine as a National Youth Correspondent to the 2016 Washington Journalism and Media Conference at George Mason University, in Fairfax, Virginia. Ellifritt, who was chosen based on academic accomplishments and a demonstrated interest and excellence in journalism and media studies, will join a select group of students from all over the country for an intensive study of journalism and media.

Bryan Betz, of Hampstead, earned dean's list at John Carroll University, in University Heights, Ohio, for the fall 2015 semester.

Bronwyn Roseli, of Westminster, and Anna Elyse Hamel, of Woodbine, earned dean's list at the College of William & Mary, in Williamsburg, Virginia, for the fall 2015 semester.

Robert Mullinix, of Mount Airy, earned dean's list at Northeastern University, in Boston, Massachusetts, for the fall 2015 semester.

Jacob Kadis, of Westminster, earned dean's list at Wilkes University, in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, for the fall 2015 semester.