Carroll County Times
Carroll County Education

In School

Robert Wise, of Eldersburg, was among the 128 new students the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine at Virginia Tech officially welcomed with a "white coat" ceremony following a four-day orientation designed to prepare them for their professional training. First-year students walked across the stage to receive their white coats and a stethoscope on Aug. 25. Earlier in the week, first-year students completed orientation activities intended to produce well-rounded and professional veterinary students. In addition to lectures, tours, and presentations at the college, students visited the Alta Mons campground in Shawsville, Virginia, for a day of team-building exercises designed to boost their leadership, self-confidence, and communication skills.

Lebanon Valley College, Annville, Pennsylvania, welcomed new students in the class of 2021, including: Jonathan Issing, of Westminster, graduate of Calvert Hall College High School, pursuing a degree in actuarial science; Zachary Tucker, of Sykesville, graduate of Century High School, pursuing a degree in digital communications; Samantha Flater, of Manchester, graduate of Manchester Valley High School, pursuing a degree in physical therapy; Lauren Schrott, of Manchester, graduate of Manchester Valley High School, pursuing a degree in biology; William Kubistal, of Mount Airy, graduate of Saint John's Catholic Prep, pursuing a degree in actuarial science; Alexander Bloch, of Mount Airy, graduate of South Carroll High School, pursuing a degree in physical therapy.


Allyson Stolte, of Sykesville, was selected for a Shinoda Foundation scholarship, at Delaware Valley University, Doylestown, Pennsylvania. The Foundation selects recipients based on factors such as academic performance, career goals, extracurricular activities and work experience. Stolte is one of 11 students from across the country who earned 2017-2018 Shinoda Foundation scholarships.

McDaniel College has awarded select transfer students with $100,000 Educator's Legacy Scholarships, including: William Drews, of Mount Airy; Carlye Miller, of Westminster; Brian Peterson, of Mount Airy; and Madison Stone, of Westminster. Children with a parent or guardian who has at least four years of current and consecutive full-time employment at a K-12 school or community college can apply for this guaranteed scholarship to attend McDaniel College. Any service qualifies, such as teachers, administrators, counselors, nurses or support staff, etc. Students must have at least a 2.5 grade point average to receive the scholarship. The $25,000 annual scholarship (or $20,000 per year for commuter students) is renewable each year to students who maintain continuous enrollment and satisfactory academic progress.


Among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program were local students Matthew E. Johnson, Kevin P Manogue, Taylor L. Mendoza and Shannon E. Sevier, Liberty High School; Robyn E. Anzulis and Jackson W. Foran, South Carroll High School; and Hannah S. Rose, Westminster High School. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

Carroll County Daily Headlines

Carroll County Daily Headlines


Get the day's top news and sports headlines.

Grace Santos, of Taneytown, has enrolled at Alvernia University, Reading, Pennsylvania, for the fall 2017 semester. A graduate of Francis Scott Key High School, Santos is studying athletic training at Alvernia.

Jonathan Halberstam, of Manchester, performed in drama "A Streetcar Named Desire," at McDaniel College Oct. 4-7.

William Grabill, of New Windsor, received the Honors College Citation in a ceremony in the Memorial Chapel on the University of Maryland's College Park campus. The citation signifies the successful completion of honors course work, which includes honors seminars, special honors versions of introductory courses, and a first-year colloquium. Grabill is a 2014 Francis Scott Key High School graduate and a senior at University of Maryland, majoring in mechanical engineering.

Samantha Engel, of Finksburg, a student at Fairleigh Dickinson University's Florham Campus in Madison, New Jersey, has been inducted into FDU's Phi Omega Epsilon honor society for the spring 2017 semester. Eligibility for membership is established by completing at least 90 earned credits toward an undergraduate degree with a CGPR of 3.50. Of the 90 credits, the last 58 must have been taken at the university, and a CGPR of 3.20 must have been maintained. All the requirements must have been fulfilled prior to the accumulation of 112 credits.

Katherine Goodale, of Woodbine, has enrolled at the University of Iowa for fall 2017 semester as part of the class of 2021.

Among those receiving degrees at The University of Alabama's summer commencement were Abimbola Runsewe, of Marriottsville, Doctor of Nursing Practice; and Karla Ann Ruths, of Sykesville, Bachelor of Science commerce business administration.

Nicholas Belski, of Union Bridge; Julia Bratburd, of Mount Airy; and Kaitlyn Tutalo, of Hampstead, enrolled for the fall 2017 semester at Belmont University, Nashville, Tennessee.