Carroll County Times
Carroll County Education

In School

Talia Smith, of Eldersburg, a member of the class of 2019 majoring in history, has been named to the dean's list for the spring 2018 semester at Drew University, Madison, New Jersey. To qualify, students must earn a grade point average of 3.6 or above.

Lydia Rogers, of Mount Airy, a sophomore fashion merchandising major, has been named to the spring honors list for the 2017-2018 academic year at Concordia University, Mequon, Wisconsin. To be eligible, students must achieve a minimum 3.60 GPA.


Nicholas Wilson, of Finksburg, a management major in John Carroll University's Boler College of Business, had a summer internship with JW & Sons Inc. Both undergraduate and graduate programs at Boler combine classroom learning with significant project work and exposure to business leaders and challenges. Wilson will graduate from John Carroll in 2019.

Emily E. Harrison, North Carroll High School class of 2014, graduated in May from Gettysburg College as the class valedictorian with summa cum laude honors. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry, also completing a minor in mathematics. She is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Honor Society and a Lincoln Scholar. She held several jobs while attending college, including chemistry lab teaching assistant, chemistry tutor, finance coordinator for the Campus Activities Board, and Lincoln Scholar peer mentor, and was involved Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity. Last summer she was accepted into Harvard University 's summer research program where she conducted cancer research. She received numerous chemistry awards including the American Chemical Society Division of Organic Chemistry Most Outstanding Senior Chemistry Student and the Society of Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh College Chemistry Award. She will be attending graduate school at University of North Carolina Chapel Hill as a PhD candidate in organic chemistry.


Matthew LeTellier, of Woodbine, was among more than 3,900 students from Miami University , Oxford, Ohio, who received degrees during spring commencement exercises May 19, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in accountancy.

Sarah J. Cropper, of Finksburg, received a Bachelor of Science in psychology from Washington State University , Pullman, Washington.

Jacob Kucharski, of Westminster, has been named to the dean's list for the spring 2018 semester at Baldwin Wallace University, Berea, Ohio. Eligible students must receive at least a 3.6 GPA for seven or more graded hours in a single semester. Kucharski is a graduate of Westminster High School, majoring in national security and international studies.

Erin N. Sallee, of Manchester, was named to the dean's list at LIM College, New York, New York, for the spring 2018 semester. To be placed on the dean's list, students must earn a grade point average between 3.50 and 3.79.

Olivia I. Zachman, of Hampstead, has been selected for inclusion on the spring 2018 dean's list for academic achievement at St. Lawrence University, Canton, New York. To be eligible for students must have completed at least four courses and have an academic average of 3.6 based on a 4.0 scale for the semester. Zachman, who attended North Carroll High School, is a member of the Class of 2019 and is majoring in history.

Avery Arena, of Eldersburg and Emma Welch, of Eldersburg, qualified for spring 2018 dean's list at Seton Hall University , South Orange, New Jersey.

Hannah Boudreau, of Hampstead; Karly Hursey, of Hampstead; and Emilee Zanti, of Finksburg, were among the more than 1,500 students who received academic degrees on May 12 from Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania .

Paula Ambrose, a graduate of Winters Mill High School and native of Westminster, landed a summer internship as a conservation biology intern for Allegheny Land Trust in Sewickley, Pennsylvania. Ambrose is pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in biological sciences with a concentration in molecular/cellular biology and a minor in chemistry from Point Park University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She is also a member of Point Park's softball team.


The following area students were named to the dean's list at Salisbury University for the spring 2018 semester: Eldersburg area: Courtney Ackerman, Margaret Griffin, Arianna Lange, Sara Leonard, Michael Lintz, Sashiv Patel and Madison Sales; Finksburg area: Andrew Borden, Sara Collins, Ryan Maykrantz and Kristen Murphy; Hampstead area: Cameron Ament, Leah Chelton, Gavin Cwiek, Madison Jermain, Conner Masteran and Alyssa Rink; Manchester area: Zion Altomonte, Elizabeth Leahy, Arianna Woodley, Serenity Haughwout and Yasmine Sakinejad; Marriottsville area: Emily Gisriel and Carly Marvin; Millers: Cameron Ward; Mount Airy area: Jacob Azoulay, Bridget Berdit, Allison Brannon, Jordan Duley, Aaron Johnson, Melissa Kolick, Jason Kotula, Lindsay Maier, Patrick McGivern, Christina Reilly, Emily Rieland, Lauren Rosenberg, Brianna Scott, Holly Seymore, Michael Slattery, Amy Tibbals and Brittany Whiteside; Sykesville area: Miranda Bower, Alexander Bordenski, Lauren Boyd, Trevor Brookhart, Cassie Buckalew, Abigail Burnett, Nicholas Feehley, Nicole Goheen, Juliana Hartlove, Hannah Jones, Kathleen Kaste, Karisa Kissinger, Paul Komiske, Christopher Madden, Evan McCarthy, Abigail Miller, Alex Murri, Anthony Palatella, Nicole Venturelli, Cherish Walden and Rachel Welsh; Taneytown area: Hunter Lupro and Christian Motter; Union Bridge area: Ashley Naill; Westminster area: Olivia Allen, Madison Baber, Meghan Baker, Emily Ball, Kevin Chesebrough, Carly Coakley, Margo Curran, Jessica Dougherty, Corrine Dovell, Alexandra Dyas, Grant Gabriele, Jacob German, Sierra Hardeman, Katie Hopwood, Sarah Krammer, Kourtney Lammey, Emma Layne, Connor Lulay, Hannah Manning, Allison Mitrovich, Brady Phillips, Kelsey Pintzow, Creason Schafer, Kayla Sealover, Maddy Walsh, Robin Weber and Adam Weeks; Woodbine area: Megan Anderson, Shannon Bull, Madelyn Goodale and Nathan Lang.

The following local students are spring 2018 graduates of Stevenson University: Bhavneet Athwal, of Manchester; Alyssa Barbour, of Westminster; Daniel Bedwell, of Westminster; Chris Campbell, of Manchester; Morgan Cary, of Mount Airy; Zac Cather, of Finksburg; Christian Colon, of Westminster; Sarah Cullison, of Manchester; Sally Dawson, of Sykesville; Justin Friedman, of Manchester; Elisabeth Haddock, of Westminster; Dylan Harris, of Mount Airy; Ellen Holtz, of Westminster; Ellen Homesley, of Hampstead; Courtney Hottle, of Eldersburg; Julie Hudson, of Woodbine; Ryan James, of Westminster; Chantel King, of Sykesville; Dan Levy, of Hampstead; Meghan Loveless, of Woodbine; Lindsay McManus, of Westminster; Danielle Mikoloski, of Westminster; Justin Morris, of Hampstead; Nadia Nehme, of Eldersburg; Whitney Nguyen, of Sykesville; Desmond Njemseh, of Westminster; George Oursler, of Upperco; Brittany Paff, of Taneytown; Rachel Palmer, of Westminster; Delaney Patterson, of Westminster; Katherine Peiffer, of Eldersburg; Jess Price, of Mount Airy; Maci Quinn, of Taneytown; Landy Reeve, of Woodbine; Aaron Rill, of Hampstead; Becca Rohe, of Taneytown; Jessica Ryan, of Sykesville; Kristin Sager, of Finksburg; Courtney Scoone, of Westminster; David Steinwedel, of Westminster; Amanda Tran, of Sykesville; Lauren Weaver, of Mount Airy; Zane Wetzel, of Sykesville; Ronald Wilson, of Finksburg; Kayla Wintsch, of Union Bridge; and Mandi York, of Manchester.