Carroll County Times
Carroll County Education

In School

Kathryn Lienhard, a marine science major from Westminster, is secretary of The Rotaract Club at Coastal Carolina University, Conway, South Carolina. The club has more than 20 regularly attending members who participate in a variety of events, including beach cleanups every two weeks and packaging weekend meals for elementary school-age students in the area in conjunction with Conway Medical Center's Smart Snacks program. The club also participated in CCU's Relay for Life event in March and the Carolina Forest Sunrise Rotary Club's Putting for Pupils Golf Classic on April 14. More recently, club members planted two trees on CCU's campus during the University's Earth Fair April 18 as a way to answer the Rotary International president's challenge for every member to plant a tree before Earth Day 2018.

McDaniel College students were recognized at the April 29 Spring Awards ceremony. More than 30 honors for academic achievement and leadership were awarded to juniors, sophomores and freshmen. Local students included: Jack Del Nunzio, of Sykesville, received The Major George N. Keady Award for Excellence in History, established in 2010 by Dr. and Mrs. S. Thomas Gross and designated for the purchase of books and supplies and is made annually to a history student who demonstrates academic distinction in history. Nicolette Brookman, of Sykesville, received The Ralph Candler and Dorothy Prince John Award for Academic Excellence and Service to the College Community, established in 1995 in honor of Dr. Ralph C. John, the sixth president of Western Maryland College, and his wife, Dorothy, made annually to an underclass student demonstrating academic excellence and service to the college community. Harrison Curnutte, of Westminster, received The Isabel Isanogle Royer Biology Scholarship, established in 1990 in memory of Professor Royer who taught biology and botany at the college from 1942-1979, and given annually to an outstanding biology major. Andy Murphy, of Eldersburg, received The Barry A. Winkelman Memorial Award, established in 1965 in memory of 1955 alumnus Barry A. Winkelman who was an Army pilot at the time of his death, and is granted to a male or female student beginning his or her junior year who has been accepted for advanced ROTC, has evidenced academic and athletic ability, and has exhibited certain characteristics reminiscent of Captain Winkelman. Jacob Summerlin, of Keymar, received The Felix Woodbridge Morley Memorial Award, established in 1952 by Mr. and Mrs. Felix Morley in memory of their son who was a freshman at the college during the 1951-1952 academic year, and is presented to a first-year student who by his or her development on the Hill has most happily justified admission to the college community. Tim Sherwin, of Westminster, received The Harry Clary Jones Scholarship for Physics, established in 1929 by the bequest of Professor Harry C. Jones, who attended the college and later taught physical chemistry at Johns Hopkins University, and is awarded to one rising senior in the physics department.


Taylor Hoey, of Westminster, a student at McDaniel College in Westminster, was named April 29 to the Omicron Delta Kappa national leadership honor society. Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society, was installed at the College in 1963. Membership in the society carries with it the responsibility of encouraging students in leadership and community service. Juniors and seniors who stand in the upper 35 percent of their classes are eligible and selected on the basis of exceptional leadership in various aspects of campus life.

Victoria Graham, of Manchester; and Mark Klinger, of Mount Airy, were among 20 adult undergraduate students at the Frederick Campus of Mount St. Mary's University who were inducted into Alpha Sigma Lambda. It is the largest and oldest honor society for nontraditional students who achieve and maintain outstanding scholastic standards and leadership characteristics while adroitly handling additional responsibilities of work and family.


Rachel Robbins, of Hampstead, received a Master of Science in athletic training from East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania . A total of 1,010 bachelor's degrees, 191 master's degrees and four doctoral degrees were awarded.

Robert Imhoff, of Upperco, was presented the Henry Dale Smith Public Speaking Award at the South Carolina Corps of Cadets Awards Convocation on May 3. The award is presented to the winner of the annual cadet public speaking competition sponsored by The Citadel Oral Communications Lab.

Local students were among those eligible to walk in Coastal Carolina University's graduation exercises, held on campus at the HTC Student Recreation Center and Convocation Center May 4-5. Nicholas Nobile, from Mount Airy, earned a Bachelor of Arts in intelligence & national security studies; and Nakita Thomas, from Westminster, earned a Bachelor of Science in marine science.