Carroll County Times
Carroll County Education

In School

Kiley Allen, of Sykesville, was named to the honor roll for the fall 2018 semester at the University of Oklahoma Norman campus. In most colleges, students must earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale to be included, and be enrolled full time in at least 12 credit hours. Students in the College of Architecture are recognized with a 3.3 or better, and students in the College of Engineering are recognized with a 3.0 or better.

Lindsey Conely, of Woodbine, majoring in criminal justice/psychology major; and Erin Cutroneo, of Woodbine, majoring in international affairs, anthropology major, were named to the dean's list for the fall 2018 semester at Northeastern University , Boston, Massachusetts. To achieve dean's list, students must carry a full program of at least four courses, have a quality point average of 3.5 or greater out of a possible 4.0 and carry no single grade lower than a C- during the course of their college career.


The following students were named to the dean's list for the fall 2018 semester at Albright College, Reading, Pennsylvania: Kelly Swanhart, of Mount Airy, graduate of Glenelg High School, Alpha program major; and Suzanne Spriggs, of Westminster, Winters Mill High School graduate, biology major. To be eligible, students must earn a GPA of 3.75 or better while taking a minimum of three graded courses during a semester.

The following local students were among those named to the dean's list for the fall 2018 semester at York College of Pennsylvania: Justin Rose, junior recreation and leisure administration major, of Westminster; and Gregory Tetzloff, freshman accounting major, of Eldersburg. To be eligible, a student must be registered for at least 12 academic credit hours and earn a semester GPA of 3.50 or higher.


The following local students were awarded dean's list academic honors for the fall 2018 semester at St. Mary's College of Maryland: Dylan Collins, Eldersburg; Caitlin Hall, Eldersburg; Lauren Swam, Hampstead; Claire McCormack, Marriottsville; Amy Angeletti, Mount Airy; Maria Campanile, Mount Airy; Ines Garofolo, Mount Airy; Noelle Gleeson, Mount Airy; Colleen McGuire, Mount Airy; Courtney Mellon, Mount Airy; Garrett Toth-Williams, Mount Airy; Elizabeth Williams, Mount Airy; Delaney Ballard, New Windsor; Austin Burns, New Windsor; Connor Armstrong, Sykesville; Megan Lane, Sykesville; India Oates, Sykesville; Jason Williams, Sykesville; Jeremiah Basler, Taneytown; Serenity Wolf, Taneytown; Alexander Wood, Taneytown; Emily Gorham, Union Bridge; Madolyn Henline, Westminster; Anna Lignelli, Westminster; Emily Pulkowski, Westminster; Katherine Riesner, Westminster; Kayla Sherfey, Westminster; Allison Tesch, Westminster; Sean Wellman, Westminster. Dean's list honors are awarded to full-time students who earn a semester grade-point average of 3.5 or better on 12 or more graded credits.

The following local students were named to the dean's list for the fall 2018 semester at Mount St. Mary's University, Emmitsburg: Keziah Adabrah, of Mount Airy; Erin Anderson, of Westminster; Hannah Barber, of Hampstead; Gabrielle Benedictis, of Westminster; Nathaniel Bentz, of Westminster; Grace Bovard, of Sykesville; Rebecca Breiner, of Sykesville; Jocilyn Brower, of Sykesville; Michael Burke, of Sykesville; Taylor Carhart, of Manchester; Rebecca Cermak, of Woodbine; Caroline Colson, of Westminster; Matthew Dirndorfer, of Mount Airy; Mary Donaldson, of Union Bridge; Christian Dovel, of Eldersburg; Olivia Eby, of Westminster; Benjamin Fisher, of Eldersburg; Hannah Golway, of Woodbine; Emma Greene, of Westminster; Kelsey Horn, of Eldersburg; Hanna Houck, of Keymar; Andrew Jackson, of Hampstead; Sean Kazmierski, of Hampstead; Ashleigh Kocher, of Westminster; Anthony Kortisses, of Westminster; Alexis Kucharski, of Westminster; Alexander Langan, of Finksburg; Molly Larkin, of Finksburg; Zachary Lawson, of Westminster; Eva Lucero-Vivar, of Sykesville; Mallory MacLellan, of Hampstead; Jonathan Martien, of Finksburg; Sarunas Matalavage, of Manchester; Vilius Matalavage, of Manchester; Shannon McQuin, of Mount Airy; Ian Meyers, of Westminster; Carly Miller, of Marriottsville; Stephanie Moran, of Woodbine; Kristen Musselman, of Mount Airy; Gemma O'Keefe, of Sykesville; Sarah Pernell, of Westminster; Elaina Perry, of Taneytown; Austin Petry, of Taneytown; Sophia Posada, of Mount Airy; Julia Quenzer, of Westminster; Megan Schultz, of Eldersburg; Sarah Shatzer, of Taneytown; Isabella Sladic, of Westminster; William Solomon, of Woodbine; Monterra Szabo, of Manchester; Walter Tate, of Taneytown; Samantha Vanderlipp, of Sykesville; Caroline Walsh, of Westminster; Casey Wood, of Hampstead.

The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa , awarded some 2,065 degrees during its fall commencement on Dec. 15. Among them were Patrick Leitner, of Eldersburg, Bachelor of Science, commerce business administration; Nicholas Price, of Mount Airy, Bachelor of Science, education; and Kyle Singer, of Mount Airy, Bachelor of Arts, communication.

Patrick M. Miller, of Taneytown, a sophomore majoring in meteorology, has been named to the president's list for the fall 2018 semester at SUNY Oswego, in New York. Miller was among SUNY Oswego students who achieved a grade point average of 3.80 and above on the 4.00 scale.

The followings students were named to the dean's list at Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania: Benjamin Van Riper, of Hampstead, computer science major, class of 2019, 2015 graduate of Manchester Valley High School; and Hannah Lyons, of Eldersburg, sociology major, class of 2020, 2016 graduate of Liberty High School. Dean's list recognizes students who achieve a grade point average of 3.4 or higher out of a possible 4.0 for the semester.