Prep Sports: Local lax players set for national stage

The next two weeks feature a pair of prestigious lacrosse events, with several county standouts participating.
First up is the Brine National Lacrosse Classic, set for June 30 to July 3 at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Germantown. The tournament is in its sixth year and features more than 700 boys and girls players and games begin July 1.
Carroll has three girls All-Americans competing on the Maryland Region team - Manchester Valley's Lizzie Colson (Class of 2016), Century's Madi Hall (2015), and Winters Mill's Kayleigh Phillips (2014).
The county boasts three All-Americans on the boys side: Woodbine resident Nick Forrest (2014), and Westminster's Brian Kohr (2014) and Chad Patterson (2016).
When the Brine tourney ends, the annual Under Armour All-America Lacrosse Classic gets underway July 5 at Towson University. The All-America Games are the highlight, with girls and boys games slated for July 6 at 5 and 8 p.m. Recent Century graduate Haley Bordner is Carroll's lone representative and is on the Girls South Team.
But there are a few county players taking part in the Underclassmen Games, a series of round-robin contests that lead to tournament championships July 7.
Century's Alex Gipe (2015) and Westminster's Jesse Uhlman (2014) are on the Baltimore boys team, along with Sykesville residents Bryan Costabile (2016, Mount St. Joseph) and Mikey Wynne (2014, St. Paul's).
Westminster's Ryan Hursey (2014) is on the Washington boys team.
Century's Hannah Warther (2016) is on the Baltimore girls team.
WITH HONORS: Recent Westminster graduate Ryan Drenner, the Times Player of the Year, earned the C. Markland Kelly Award for Class 4A-3A boys lacrosse players at the Maryland State Lacrosse Coaches Association's annual banquet in late May at Navy-Marine Corps Stadium in Annapolis.
Carroll County had four finalists for the Kelly Award, which recognizes the best players in the state for each of the three classifications - Drenner was joined by North Carroll's Kyle Fiedler, South Carroll's Dylan McDermott, and Manchester Valley's Brendan Krivak as 2A-1A hopefuls.
In conjunction with the banquet, the MSLCA handed it outs yearly awards and Westminster's Steve DeFeo won public school coach of the year, and the 4A-3A state champion Owls were the team of the year.
Former Owls coach Jeff Doolan earned MSLCA Man of the Year.
On the girls side, three county players earned first-team all-American honors for the Western Maryland chapter of US Lacrosse - Francis Scott Key's Alli Dudley, Winters Mill's Sydney Trentzsch and Manchester Valley's Colby Unkle.
In addition, WM's Maddie Bodden received the Jackie Pitts Award.
The Jackie Pitts Award is given to a senior who plays lacrosse and is invested in the development of the game in her community.