Carroll County Times

Carroll students named Carson Scholars

Ten students from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as Carson Scholars for 2012. Each year the Fund recognizes a select group of high achieving students in grades 4-11 who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities.

First-Time Scholars receive a $1,000 college scholarship award. After winning the scholarship, a student may apply for Previous Scholar Recognition each year until he or she graduates from high school. Previous scholars receive recognition but no additional scholarship money is awarded.

First-Time Scholar:

Eliza Lambertson, Grade 4, Robert Moton Elementary School.

Recognized Scholars:

Harrison Curnutte, Grade 9, Francis Scott Key High School, 2-Time Scholar;

Jared Harless, Grade 7, Northwest Middle School, 3-Time Scholar;

Nicolas Holocker, Grade 11, Century High School, 4-Time Scholar;

Grace McCarthy, Grade 11, Liberty High School, 4-Time Scholar;

Jennifer Nguyen, Grade 6, Shiloh Middle School, 2-Time Scholar;

Anna Parsons, Grade 11, Westminster High School, 6-Time Scholar;

Nathan Saurusaitis, Grade 8, North Carroll Middle School, 4-Time Scholar;

Allison Williams, Grade 10, Liberty High School, 3-Time Scholar;

Laura Wonilowicz, Grade 10, Winters Mill High School, 3-Time Scholar.

First-Time and Recognized Scholars will be honored at a recognition banquet April 29 at Martin's West. Legendary newscaster Sam Donaldson will serve as Master of Ceremonies. Honored guests include: Lou Dobbs, broadcaster for Fox Business News and William H. Gates, Sr., Co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. World-renowned pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Ben Carson will deliver the keynote speech. The public is invited to be part of this inspirational day. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit the Carson Scholars Fund website at