DATE: March 22

RACE: 25-lap 410 Super Sprint Feature

WINNER: Danny Dietrich, Aspers, Pa.

RACE NOTES: A redraw of the top four finishers from the qualifiers placed Danny Dietrich third for the start of the feature. He passed outside front row starter Kyle Moody for second on lap four, just before the only caution of the race came out for his brother (Billy), who came to a stop in turn four. Dietrich followed polesitter Brent Marks for six more laps before making the pass as the leaders hit lapped traffic on lap 11. From there, Dietrich drove away to a 1.78-second win over Marks. Greg Hodnett finished third, Kyle Moody fourth and Lance Dewease completed the top five. Dietrich picked up prize money of $3,200 for his first victory since July. In the process, he moved alongside his dad with 19 career Lincoln wins. "I sure hope to pass him ... maybe even next week!" joked Dietrich.

RACE: 20-lap 358 Sprint Feature

WINNER: Niki Young, East Berlin, Pa.

RACE: 20-lap 358 Late Model Feature

WINNER: J R Rodriguez, Dover, Pa.


DATE: March 22

RACE: 20-lap 270cc Micro Sprint Feature

WINNER: Mike Rutherford, Lititz, Pa.

CARROLL FINISHERS: 11th Michael Boer, Hampstead; 16th Steve Cox, Finksburg

RACE NOTES: Brian Marriott led the first 12 laps and pulled away from the field. Unfortunately, as Marriott caught the rear of the field, a car spun in turn two directly in front of Marriott. Marriott tried to go to the outside, but slid into the outside wall ending his afternoon. This handed the lead over to polesitter Cory Myers. On the restart, there was a four car battle for the lead. The leaders were three wide at the exit of turn four. Richie Hartman led lap 13 at the line, but Mike Rutherford pulled away from the field over the final 7 laps to win by 2.38 seconds over second place Hartman. Mike Boyer finished third, Robert Blumenshine fourth and Mike Coen completed the top five.

RACE: 20-lap 600cc Micro Sprint Feature

WINNER: Arron Spahr, York, Pa.

RACE: 20-lap Central PA Legend Car Feature

WINNER: Chris Spidle

CARROLL FINISHER: 9th Travis McClelland, Westminster McClelland also won his heat race.

RACE: 20-lap ACMS 600cc Micro Sprint Feature

WINNER: Justin Whittail


DATE: March 22

RACE: 25-lap Late Model Feature

WINNER: Mason Zeigler, Chalk Hill, Pa.

RACE NOTES: Mason Zeigler quickly pulled to the front as sixth- place starter Dominic Defino, who was involved in a first turn incident last week, pulled into second and started to give chase. Zeigler began to pull away and when Jamie Lathroum rolled to a stop on lap eight, Zeigler was more than three seconds ahead. On the restart Jason Covert, who initially started ninth, was up to fifth and disposed of Dylan Yoder, CS Fitzgerald and Defino to move into the runner-up spot on lap 11. Covert reeled in Zeigler and didn't allow any room for the slightest miscue as he trailed three lengths until a lap 19th caution when Trevor Feathers came to stop. On the restart, Zeigler chose the outside in the double file restart with Covert not allowing him to escape. Defino, lost out on the restart and lost a number of positions as Fitzgerald, Jim Yoder and Kenny Moreland advanced. The pair pulled away from Fitzgerald by nearly five seconds. Ziegler was followed by Covert at the finish line with Fitzgerald third, Yoder fourth and Moreland fifth.

RACE: 20-lap Late Model Sportsman Feature

WINNER: Justin Weaver, Williamsport, Md.

CARROLL FINISHER: 4th Chad Myers, Hampstead

RACE: 15-lap Pure Stock Feature

WINNER: Mike Corbin, Winchester, Va.

CARROLL FINISHERS: 3rd Nick Dibella, Mt Airy; 4th Mike Kratovil, Westminster; 9th Frank Dibella, Mt Airy

RACE: 15-lap Hobby Stock Feature

WINNER: Kenny Thomas, Greencastle, Pa.

RACE: 15-lap Four Cylinder Feature

WINNER: Ryan Laye, Ft. Loudon, Pa.


DATE: March 23

RACE: 25-lap 410 Super Sprint Season Opener

WINNER: Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove, Pa.

RACE NOTES: Blane Heimbach started in seventh while second place starter Greg Hodnett powered into the early lead over polesitter Justin Barger. However, a caution flag for 13th-place starter Pat Cannon, who made contact with the second turn guardrail, regrouped the field for the second attempt to start the race. A close battle unfolded for the third spot between Chad Layton and Heimbach as the race drew close to the halfway point. On lap 12, Heimbach powered by Layton for third and began to reel in the leaders. Less than a lap later, misfortune struck Barger as his car developed a flat tire, ending his hopes of an opening day win. The race stayed under green flag conditions and Hodnett inherited the lead at Barger's expense. Heimbach quickly reeled in the new pacesetter and then made the winning pass by diving inside of Hodnett entering turn one on the 15th lap. Three laps later Hodnett's car went up in smoke and rolled to a stop in turn two. On the subsequent restarts, Layton challenged Heimbach for the lead but to no avail. At the checkered flag, Heimbach won by two seconds over Layton. Mike Erdley finished third, Lucas Wolfe fourth and Steve Buckwalter fifth. Heimbach, a 36-time 358-360 car winner at Selinsgrove, scored the one victory that has eluded him for nearly a decade: His first win in a 410 sprint car at Selinsgrove in the track's 52nd consecutive season opener. Heimbach took home $4,000.


WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY: March 28 7:30 pm 75th Anniversary Opening Day 410 Super Sprints and 358 Sprints

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY: March 28 and 29 6 pm Big Block Modified and Sportsman Modified

TRAIL-WAY SPEEDWAY: March 29 1 pm 600cc & 270cc Micro Sprints, Limited Stock Cars, and ACMS 600cc Sprints

HAGERSTOWN SPEEDWAY: March 29 5 pm Topless Late Model Sportsman, Late Models, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks, and 4-cylinder Stocks

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY: March 29 6 pm 410 Super Sprints, Super Sportsman, and Legend Cars

PORT ROYAL SPEEDWAY: March 29 5 pm 410 Super Sprint, Late Models, and Econo-late Models

SUSQUEHANNA SPEEDWAY: March 29 6 pm Test and Tune for all divisions