Community awards distributed at annual dinner

The Arc's 2014 Annual Dinner and Community Awards event was held May 13 at The Portico at St. John.

The Arc Community Awards recognize the achievements and contributions of Carroll County residents who make significant contributions to the intellectual and developmental disabilities community. The awards also celebrate the achievements of those with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Lynn Davis, The Arc's Board President, selected R. Scott Moser, chief of Carroll County's Bureau of Building Construction, as this year's President's Award recipient. Bryan Ensor, who has served on The Arc's board for more than a decade, was awarded an emeritus plaque.

Arc Carroll County Executive Director Don Rowe also expressed his appreciation for the achievements and efforts made by those who were honored at the awards ceremony.

Awards and winners include:

  • WAMM Special Appreciation Award: Hank Wheeler, manager of The Portico at St. John Catholic Church, Westminster.
  • Public Service Award: Erica Wheeler, the Commission for Effective Community Inclusion of Individuals with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Westminster.
  • Public Service Award: Senators Joe Getty, David Brinkley, Allan Kittleman, Delegates Nancy Stocksdale, Justin Ready, Susan Krebs and Donald Elliott, Annapolis.
  • Volunteer of the Year: Brenda Fisher, Westminster.
  • Employer of the Year: Jon Barton, Roy Rogers Restaurant, Westminster.
  • Spirit of Independence Award: John Vardon, Westminster.
  • President's Award: Scott Moser, Carroll County Government, Westminster.
  • Special Education Professional of the Year: Angela Bell, Shiloh Middle School, Hampstead.
  • Timothy J. Atkinson Award for Advocacy: Lisa Thompson, Taneytown.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun