Carroll County Times

Students named Carson Scholars

Twelve students from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as Carson Scholars for 2013. Each year the Fund recognizes a select group of high achieving students in grades 4-11 who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities. First-time Scholars receive a $1,000 college scholarship award and the coveted honor of being named a Carson Scholar.

After winning the scholarship, a student may apply for Previous Scholar Recognition each year until he or she graduates from high school. Previous scholars receive recognition but no additional scholarship money is awarded. These previous winners have maintained high academic standards and a strong commitment to their communities and are being recognized for their continued efforts.

First-Time Scholars

Cameron Ducey: Grade 8, Oklahoma Road Middle School

Caroline Freundel: Grade 5, Runnymede Elementary School

Natalie Singer: Grade 10, Manchester Valley High School


Recognized Scholars

Harrison Curnutte: Grade 10, Francis Scott Key High School, 3-Time Scholar

Jared Harless: Grade 8, Northwest Middle School, 4-Time Scholar

Nicolas Holocker: Grade 12, Century High School, 5-Time Scholar

Grace McCarthy: Grade 12, Liberty High School, 5-Time Scholar

Jennifer Nguyen: Grade 7, Shiloh Middle School, 3-Time Scholar

Anna Parsons: Grade 12, Westminster High School, 7-Time Scholar

Nathan Saurusaitis: Grade 9, Manchester Valley High School, 5-Time Scholar

Allison Williams: Grade 11, Liberty High School, 4-Time Scholar

Laura Wonilowicz: Grade 11, Winters Mill High School, 4-Time Scholar

To celebrate their accomplishments, the Mid-Atlantic scholars will be honored at the 17th Annual Awards Banquet on Sunday, April 7, 2013 at Martin's West. Legendary newscaster Sam Donaldson will serve as Master of Ceremonies. Honored guests include Dr. John Mather, Astrophysicist and Nobel Laureate in Physics; Matt Stover, former Baltimore Ravens kicker; and Chris Wallace, Emmy Award winning journalist and Fox News anchor. World-renowned pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Ben Carson will deliver the keynote speech. The public is invited to be part of this inspirational day. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit the Carson Scholars Fund website at