Franklin High School

students and staff came together to send sympathy to the Perry Hall Community. The Franklin High SGA received an email from a parent in the Franklin community wondering if they could do something for the community of Perry Hall as they recover from their recent tragedies. The SGA Sponsors responded immediately. SGA Co-Sponsor Cortnee Brennan said, "We wanted to let the Perry Hall Community know that we're there for them."


SGA Co-Sponsor Joel Brown said that students rose to the challenge. A 10th grade student designed the card, and students and staff from Franklin signed the card in order to show their support for PHHS. While the card may not be fancy, its creation was heartfelt and showcased the students' desire to send their sympathy to the PHHS community. Brown delivered the card in person to Principal George Roberts, and SGA Advisor Dana Brown. Brown commented, "I revere Perry Hall High School's bravery and courage during this difficult time. My thoughts and prayers go out to the students, staff, and community, and I know the students of Franklin feel the same way."

Deer Park Elementary School


, in Owings Mills and

Randallstown Elementary School

in Randallstown were named Reward Schools by the Maryland State Department of Education. The Reward Schools have made strides in overall student work, as well as in reducing gaps in achievement. Maryland's new Reward Schools program was developed as part of MSDE's plan for flexibility from parts of the federal government's Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). Maryland plan, approved in May, refocuses the State's ongoing accountability efforts by eliminating the continuum of sanctions known as the School Improvement process.

Hannah More School

, which provides individualized academic, vocational and therapeutic programs to students whose needs require a specialized school setting, will hold a parent support group co-facilitated by professionals on Oct. 3, 6:30-8 p.m. at the Hannah More School cafeteria, 12039 Reisterstown Road, Reisterstown.

Hannah More School's parent support group meets monthly to serve parents of students with a range of emotional and learning disabilities. The group aims to educate, support and empower parents, while allowing parents to share experiences and knowledge as well as problem-solve in a confidential, supportive environment. Lite fare will be provided; a donation of $3 is requested to help defer costs.

The support group is free and open to the public. Free parking is located in the rear of the school. For more information and to RSVP, contact staff social worker Bob Brown at 443-881-2021 or


The Baltimore County Board of Education

will meet in open session at approximately 5 p.m. to discuss items of interest to Board members. The Board will then move immediately to a closed session. The Board will reconvene to begin its work session at approximately 6 p.m. Representatives of stakeholder groups and members of the public have the opportunity to speak at Board work sessions. In order to speak at the upcoming Board meeting, stakeholder group representatives and members of the public must sign up between 5 p.m. and 6:25 p.m. outside of the Board's meeting room.

The meeting will be held in the ESS Building, Room 114, on the Greenwood Campus, 6901 Charles Street, in Towson. The public is welcome to attend and observe all of the Board's open sessions.

Coppin State University



Morgan State University

are the recipients of the "Strengthening Historically Black Colleges and Universities" five-year grants. Coppin State recieved $2,774,741, and Morgan State recieved #3,890,113 in grant money from the U.S. Department of Education.

The grants will include activities such as curriculum reform; counseling and student service programs; establishing teacher education programs designed to qualify students to teach; acquiring real-estate property in connection with construction, renovations, or additions that may improve campus facilities; and funding faculty and staff development. In addition, funds may be used for the purchase, rental, or lease of scientific or laboratory equipment and the development of academic instruction in disciplines in which African Americans are underrepresented.

Community College of Baltimore County

, offers its second accelerated 7-week of classes from Wednesday, Oct. 17 through Saturday, Dec. 8, 2012. Register online at

or in-person registration at the Enrollment Services Centers on the Catonsville, Dundalk and Essex campuses through Oct. 16. Students can see all the classes offered via CCBC's online schedule at

. For additional information, call 443-840-CCBC (2222).

New Town High School

4931 New Town Boulevard, Owings Mills is hosting a meeting with Baltimore County Public Schools' Superintendent Dr. S. Dallas Dance on Oct. 4. BCPS staff members are invited to the 5 p.m. meeting, while community members are invited to 7 p.m. Child care services will be available, and translation services will also be available at the meeting.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun