Head of the Class: Awards and achievements for Carroll County students

State Del. Susan Krebs of District 9B recently announced the award of state scholarships to graduating high school seniors in her legislative district.

The Education Subcommittee of the Carroll County Chamber of Commerce evaluated the students based on leadership, community service, extracurricular activities, academic achievement and work ethic.

"These students demonstrated a commitment to learn, lead, and give back to the community. I have no doubt that they will go on to do great things," Krebs said. 

Graduating seniors from Century High School receiving scholarships are: Madison Born, Luke Cook, Adam Ellerbrock, Samuel Engler, Joseph Fallon, Stephen Grapes, Hunter Haines, John Panagiotopoulos, Nathan Shinholt, Lauren Siminski and Hana Vienneau.

Krebs awarded scholarships to the following graduating seniors from Liberty High School: Nathan Coleman, Deanna Faid, Erik Hasselbarth, Mustapha Jawara, Caitlin Kerr, Grant Kilduff, Haley Lupfer,  Matthew Peiffer, Joseph Skura, Andrew Van Der Stuyf and Brennan Werner.

And graduating seniors at Westminster High School who received scholarships are: Aaron Carback, Brittany Childs and Leanne Rund.

Additional scholarship winners were Rachel Kurtz, of McDonough High School; Patrick McQuay, of Calvert Hall College High School; and Kenneth Landy, of South Carroll High School. 

Money for the scholarships comes from the Delegate Scholarship Program, created by the General Assembly in 1957 for students who plan to attend colleges, universities, or career schools in Maryland.


The following local residents were among students who received degrees during commencement exercises at Grove City College, Pa., on May 19:

Hannah Pace, of Manchester, earned a bachelor's degree in sociology. She is a 2008 graduate of North Carroll High School and is the daughter of Charles and Donna Pace.

Dana Murrill earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education and early childhood education. She is a 2008 graduate of Chapelgate Christian Academy and the Ronald and JoAnn Murrill.

Kristen Shuffler, of Westminster, earned a bachelor's degree in accounting and finance. She is a 2008 graduate of Mount de Sales Academy and is the daughter of Kim and Henry Shuffler.

Morgan Osterhouse earned a bachelor's degree in mathematics with certification in mathematics secondary education. She is a 2008 graduate of Francis Scott Key High School and is the daughter of Doug and Cheryl Osterhouse, of Westminster.

Lydia Wiedeman, of Westminster, earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education and early childhood education. She is a 2007 graduate of Cedar Brook Academy and is the daughter of Bruce and Leah Wiedeman.

Ali Matthews, of Mount Airy, earned a bachelor's degree in psychology. She is home schooled and is the daughter of Jay and Dorothy Matthews.


Geneva College, Pa., recently announced that three local students were named to the school's dean's list for the spring semester.

Those included are Joshua Carback, of Finksburg, is a junior and political science major; Zachary Jensen, of Mount Airy, is a junior and middle school education major; and Jacob Beschner, of Sykesville, is a junior and engineering major.


The following students recently earned degrees from the Notre Dame of Maryland University at the school's May 26 commencement — its first as a university.

Megan Bradshaw, of Manchester, received a master's degree in teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages.

Heather Dye, of Westminster, received a master's in leadership and management.

Sharon Filson, of Reisterstown, received a bachelor's degree in business.

Desiree Fleagle, of Westminster, received a bachelor's in nursing.

Victoria Lowe, of Sykesville, received a master's in nursing.

Jessica Schweitzer, of Manchester, received a bachelor's in nursing.

Kimberly Wall, of Mount Airy, received a master's in leadership in teaching.

Andrew Weymont, of Reisterstown, received a bachelor's in elementary education/liberal studies, cum laude.

Laura White, of Reisterstown, received a master's in teaching.


Rebecca Welch, a resident of Sykesville, was among the class of 570 students at Nazareth College who received undergraduate degrees during the college's commencement in May. She received a bachelor's degree in business administration.


The following students have been named to the dean's list at Frostburg State University in recognition of outstanding academic achievement for the spring 2012 semester:

Kyle Barmoy, Andrew Berkow, Sean Clark, Skye Pinney, Kristin Prochniak and Katie Raith, all of Westminster.

Philip Croddick, Christina Gordon, Cristie Jordan, Cianna Lawrence, Kelley Magee and Robert O'Neal, all of Sykesville.

And Paul Kinzel, Marc Reading and Geoffrey Suddath, all of Eldersburg.


The following local students have been named to the dean's list at the University of Delaware for spring 2012:

Mount Airy residents Carolynn Ashoff, Lauren Draper, Jennifer Turowski and Bryan von Hagel.

Westminster residents Julia Beach, Coleen Heaver and Jordan Stoner.

From Eldersburg, Amanda Belknap, Michele Lambert, Christina Nolen, Katie Owings, Shannon Owings, Jessica Shearer, Taylor Smith and Katie Owings.

Finksburg/Reisterstown residents Michelle Boenning, Sara Bosley, Madeline Cooper, Erika Houston, Brittany Livingston, David Motter, Casey Pozanek, Danielle Roth, Cori Schreider, Kayla Replogle, Gabrielle Simonette and Jessica Zikorus.

Marriottsville residents Nicole Demers, Jillian Fader, Zachary King and Sarah Lawrence.

Adam Smith of Manchester.

From Sykesville, Stephanie Hepner, Lauren Resutek, Kaitlyn Wendler and Daniel Woodward.

And Mary Reiter and Austin Siegfried of Woodbine


Erin Kerbert, of Eldersburg, recently performed in the Marist College Dance Ensemble's spring semester showcase, "Dance Your Story," at the college, located in New York. Kerbert, a freshman, is a member of the dance ensemble.


Washington and Lee University, Va., awarded degrees to 401 graduates, including Laura Anne Ball of Eldersburg, and Anna Page Pobletts, of Sykesville.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad