Columbus Day closings

This schedule will be in effect Monday, Oct. 11.

Government offices

Open in Anne Arundel County, Annapolis, Harford County.

Closed in Baltimore City; Baltimore County, Frederick County, Howard County.


Closed in Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Howard and Frederick counties; and in Annapolis and Baltimore City.


Open in Carroll County

Closed in Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Frederick, Harford and Howard counties and Baltimore City.

Public schools

Open in all jurisdictions


Regular service in Anne Arundel, Baltimore, and Howard counties (Howard landfill open) and Annapolis

No pickup in Baltimore City, landfills and transfer station closed

Check with contractor in Carroll County, where landfill is open; in Frederick County; in Harford County (waste to energy and waste disposal center open)

Parking meters

Feed in Annapolis, Baltimore City


MTA buses: regular schedule

MTA commuter buses: no service

Subway (Metro): regular schedule, 5 a.m.-midnight

Light rail: regular schedule, 6 a.m.-11 p.m.

MARC: no service

Mobility: regular schedule

MTA information services: open

Certification office: closed

MTA Transit Store: closed


Banks, S&Ls: closed

Federal offices: closed

Federal courts: closed

Post office: No regular delivery, express mail delivery only

State offices: closed

MVA offices: closed

VEIP stations: closed


B&O Museum: open, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

Baltimore Museum of Art: closed

Walters Art Museum: closed

Port Discovery: closed

National Aquarium: open, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Science Center: closed

Baltimore Museum of Industry: closed

Maryland Zoo in Baltimore: open, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

An earlier version of this article incorrectly listed the Anne Arundel County Public Library and Enoch Pratt Free Library as open. The Baltimore Sun regrets the error.