The Baltimore Sun was named Newspaper of the Year — and its Darkroom blog was recognized as the best among websites — by the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association on Friday.

The Sun has been chosen Newspaper of the Year eight times in the past nine years. The Washington Post won in 2008.


The Sun won 50 first- or second-place awards in the annual editorial contest of daily papers with a circulation of 75,000 or more; the Post won 22; The News Journal, based in Wilmington, Del., won 14.

Fourteen of the Sun's 25 first-place awards were also considered Best in Show, meaning they were superior to first-place winners from all other circulation categories. Included among those winners were the paper's coverage of the rollout of Maryland's health insurance exchange and corruption at the Baltimore City Detention Center.

The Sun also won a first-place award for general news photo and a second-place award for sports page design.

The Sun's first-place editorial winners (Best in Show winners are designated with an asterisk):

•General news photo: Algerina Perna, for "Officer killed in line of duty."*

Multimedia storytelling-feature: Algerina Perna, Adam Marton and Steve Sullivan, for "Linda's Journey."*

• Medical/science reporting: Andrea Walker, for "Approaching birth, preparing for death."*

• Affordable Health Care Act: Andrea Walker, Meredith Cohn and Erin Cox, for coverage of Maryland's troubled health exchange. *

• Feature story: Yvonne Wenger, for "A force of spirit."*

• Photo series: Lloyd Fox, for "Film Noir Fashion."*

• Art/entertainment reporting: David Zurawik, for "Betting the 'House.'"*

• Headline: Jay Judge, for "LORDS OF THE RING."*

• Multimedia storytelling-news: Greg Kohn, for "Breaking the silence."*


• Editorial cartoon: Kevin Kallaugher, for "KAL drones on about 2013."*

• Continuing coverage: Ian Duncan and Kevin Rector, for coverage of jail corruption in Baltimore.*

• General website excellence: The Baltimore Sun staff, for The Darkroom. *

• Feature photo: Lloyd Fox, for "Making a big splash."

• Sports photo: Lloyd Fox, for "A Navy knockout."

• Editorial: Glenn McNatt, for "Pre-K suspension folly."

• Local column: feature or humor: Dan Rodricks, for "Why we love all things Irish this week."

• Local government: Erica Green, for "School police see insult after injury."

• State government: Luke Broadwater, for "Same drugs, higher prices."

• Spot news: The Baltimore Sun staff, for "Blast then smoke."

• Online commentary or blog: The Baltimore Sun staff, for The Darkroom.

• Best photo gallery: The Baltimore Sun staff, "Best of 2013."


The Aegis and The Howard County Times both won Newspaper of the Year, the Aegis for non-dailies with a circulation over 20,000 and the Howard County Times for non-dailies with a circulation between 10,000 and 20,000. The Aegis won two Best in Show awards and the Howard County Times captured one. Both are owned by The Baltimore Sun Media Group.

The Carroll County Times won Newspaper of the Year for dailies with a circulation under 30,000 and The Capital in Annapolis won several awards, including in the continuing coverage category for its reporting on the trial of former Anne Arundel County Executive John Leopold. The Baltimore Sun Media Group purchased those papers last month.