Baltimore County Chess Championship winners

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

Below are the local winners in various categories in the fourth annual BCPS Chess Championship held April 26 at Cockeysville Middle School:

Individual winners - high school division: Nathaniel Huynh, Dulaney, first; Steven Zhang, Dulaney, third; 4. Avi Khan, Towson, fourth; Steven Han, Dulaney, fifth; Eitan Borgina, Towson sixth; YiYi Kuang, Dulaney, seventh.


Individual winners - middle school division: Harshil Patel, Cockeysville, first; Joseph Tarantin, Cockeysville, second; Ryan Anton, Cockeysville, fourth; Cameron Gray, Loch Raven, fifth; Sangmin Woo, Cockeysville, sixth; Tyler Thornton, Dumbarton, eighth.

Individual winners - elementary school division: Jake Frey, Stoneleigh, fourth; Michael Stamatos, Stoneleigh, sixth; Thomas Rosati, Cromwell Valley, seventh.


Top unranked individual winners: Benedict Mondal,Towson High, second; Nicholas Banister, Ridgely Middle, first.

Team competition – high schools: Dulaney High- Rex Ledesma, Steven Zhang, Steven Han, Nathaniel Huynh, YiYi Kuang, first. Towson High- Avi Khan, Eitan Borgina, Benedict Mondal, J.P. Hutch, James Desantis, second.

Team competition – middle schools: Cockeysville Middle - Joseph Tarantin, Harshil Patel, Ryan Anton, Sangmin Woo, Gokul Natarajan, first. Ridgely Middle - Alyssa Sabellano, Anthony Granruth, Phillip Bramcucci, Nicholas Banister, Rene Alibritton, second. Dumbarton Middle - Tyler Thornton, Erik Libao, Calvin Brauer, Leo Sheingate, Kyle Sulkowski, third.

Team competition – elementary schools: Stoneleigh Elementary - Sean Christensen, Howard Fang, Daniel Melia, Michael Stamatos, Jake Frey, first.

Other local schools participating were Cromwell Valley and Timonium elementary schools.