Baltimore County

McDonogh wrestling crowns five champions, wins third straight MIAA title

Top-ranked McDonogh emerged with five champions for the second straight year and captured the team title for the third year in a row at the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference championship meet Saturday at Mount St. Joseph.

The Eagles (245.5) had finalists in eight weight classes and crowned champions TK Megonigal (113), Cameron Harrell (145), Toby Hague (152), Myles Martin (170) and Wyatt Cook (285) and easily outdistanced runner-up host Mount St. Joe (194.0).


Eagles coach Pete Welch cited the champions but also praised his entire unit.

"That semifinal round is key for point separation and that gave us a little bit of a boost, but we wrestled well throughout the tournament," Welsh said.


Cook, who secured the only pin in the finals, was named the tournament Most Outstanding Wrestling for scoring the most points for his team (30).

"He's a monster and he works his butt off," Welch said. "He's really developed this year as a wrestler. He didn't wrestle last year because of an injury."

Megonigal, a sophomore, won his second straight title. after winning at 106 pounds last year, and Hague won his second title in three years, after falling in the finals to Spalding's Logan Breitenbach, 1-0, last year.

"It means a lot to see everyone do so well here," said Hague, who is third in all-time victories (157) at McDonogh.

He trails Bryn Holmes (163) and Shane Milam (174) with the Maryland State Independent Tournament and Nationals Prep tournaments remaining.

Freshman Quinn Devaney (120), sophomore Sam Martino (138) and junior Mike Smith (220) each took second for the Eagles.

Smith's 6-5 double-overtime loss to Loyola Blakefield's Jake Nordhausen was the closest match in the championship round and Nordhausen emerged with his 100th career victory.

Late in the second overtime, Nordhausen had to ride Smith out for 30 seconds and he did it with a firm grip of one leg.


"I grabbed it and felt like time was just slowing down," Nordhausen said. "I knew I was just holding on for dear life. I just wasn't going to let it go."

The Morning Sun

The Morning Sun


Get your morning news in your e-mail inbox. Get all the top news and sports from the

Mount St. Joe placed five in the finals and had one champion, Zeke Salvo, who scored a 9-1 major decision over McDonogh freshman Quinn Devaney.

It came eight days after Salvo won a 6-5 decision over Devaney in a dual meet with a takedown with one second left in the third period.

"We both had a tremendous tournament, said Salvo, who won a Class 4A public school state title for Perry Hall, before transferring to St. Joe for his junior year.

St. Paul's had three champions, headlined by Jack Mutchnik, who won his fourth consecutive MIAA title.

He defeated Curley's Tyshawn Williams, 2-1, for the 132-pound title.


Daniel Planta (106) and Ryan Friedman (120) also won the Crusaders.

Spalding had multiple winners in Matt Pente (138) and Breitenbach (160), St. Mary's had a champion in Bryce Pappas (183), and John Carroll had a champion in Hunter Ritter (195).

Team standings
1. McDonogh 245.5
2. Mount St. Joseph 194.0
3. John Carroll 176.5
4. Spalding 153.0
5. Loyola Blakefield 148.5
6. St. Paul's 141.0
7. Curley 117.0
8. Boys' Latin 94.5
9. Calvert Hall 79.0
10. Pallotti 62.5

Championship finals
106: Daniel Planta (SP) dec Michael Doetsch (SEV) 3-2 (OT)
113: TK Megonigal (M) maj. Owen Rill (MSJ) 12-3
120: Ryan Friedman (SP) dec. Austin Smith (JC) 10-3
126: Zeke Salvo (MSJ) dec. Quinn Devaney (M) 7-1
132: Jack Mutchnik (SP) dec. Kyshawn Williams (AC), 2-1
138: Matt Pente (AS) dec. Sam Martino (M) 3-1
145: Cameron Harrell (M) dec. Austin Seivold (CH) 9-2
152: Toby Hague (M) maj. Austin Ross (JC) 18-5
160: Logan Breitenbach (AS) maj. Sam Rowell (MSJ) 13-3
170: Myles Martin (M) tech fall Connor Waugh (SP) 24-9
182: Bryce Pappas (SM) dec. Garrett Pfeifer (G) 11-4
195: Hunter Ritter (JC) dec. Dan Hawkins (MSJ) 9-3
220: Jake Nordhausen (L) dec. Mike Smith (M) 6-5 (DOT)
285:Wyatt Cook (M) fall Shane Lowman (MSJ) 1:22