Head of the Class

Erica Raynor, daughter of Roger and Julie Raynor, of Glen Arm, was accepted into Phi Eta Sigma, the national freshman honor society, at Salisbury University. Raynor is a freshman majoring in early childhood education. She is a 2010 graduate of Loch Raven High School, in Towson.

Amelia Eldridge, of Parkton, received honors at Flagler College. A new Flagler College tradition, the purpose of Honors Day is to reward seniors who best represent their chosen major(s) in terms of academics, citizenship, service and spirit of the student's major. To be eligible for an Honors Day award, seniors must have 90-plus credit hours. Eldridge is a fine arts major.

Twenty-four students and nine teams received trophies as the top competitors in Baltimore County Public Schools' first-ever system-wide Chess Championship, held April 9, at Owings Mills High School.

More than 100 students from 23 schools participated, and the individual winners from North County were:

High school division:

Paul Gill, Hereford; Ricky Huggins, Hereford; and Elijah Giuliano, Hereford.

In the high school team competition, Hereford's team, composed of Gill, Huggins, Jesse Clarke, Giuliano, and Devon Rumsey, came in first.

On March 21, the American Institute of Architecture Students, the Vinyl Institute and the Canadian Plastics Industry Association announced that Cal Poly student Luke Durkin, a Hereford High School graduate, had won an honorable Mmntion in the 2015 Pan American Games Award Pavilion Student Design Competition for his design of the facility to be constructed in Toronto. Durkin's design will also be displayed at the 2011 American Institute of Architects Convention and Design Exposition. A key element of his design is the louvered roof panels that track the sun and regulate light entry into the pavilion's interior. He also qualified for Cal Poly's Winter Quarter 2011 dean's honor list.

Durkin also was selected for enrollment in the next academic year at the University of Canberra, Australia. At Canberra, he will complete the first year of an Australian master's-level architecture program before returning to Cal Poly for his final undergraduate year of the five-year degree program. At Cal Poly, Durkin is working toward a Bachelor of Architecture, which will qualify him for a professional license upon graduation in 2013, together with a minor in architectural engineering.

Julian Amin, of Phoenix, received the University Honor Citation in a recent ceremony at the University of Maryland, College Park. The Honor's Citation signifies the successful completion of Honors course work, which includes honors seminars, special honors versions of introductory courses and a first-year colloquium.

Forty-three Baltimore County Public Schools seniors were honored at the annual McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards ceremony. The Unsung Heroes program celebrates student-athletes who help their team succeed without seeking individual recognition.

From Hereford High School, basketball player Marieke Oosterwijk and football player Nate Macon were recognized.

Timothy Campion, a 2007 Hereford High School graduate, graduated from the honors program, magna cum laude from Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania with a degree in park and resources management. This summer he will be employed as a park ranger at Tionesta Lake, Pa.

Katelin Robertson, of White Hall, received the Search For Excellence Scholarship at Millersville University's Honors and Awards Convocation on April 30.

Sarah Ann Koehn, daughter of Steven and Barbara Koehn, of Parkton, was inducted into the Zeta Omega chapter of the Phi Epsilon Kappa National Honor Society on April 17 at Lynchburg College. Koehn is a sophomore athletic training major.

The winners of the 2010 Four-Way Test ethics program, in which 12 Baltimore County public schools participated, were honored at an April 5 awards ceremony at Hereford High School.

The Four-Way Test asks its members to consider four questions when making any decision: Is it the truth? Is it fair to all concerned? Will it build goodwill and better friendships? Will it be beneficial to all concerned?

The Four-Way Test competition is an annual project of the Hunt Valley Rotary Club. The complete list of honorees from the North County:

Fifth District Elementary School

Third Grade

First place, Jack Munk; second place, Alec Stegemerten; and third place, Abigail Kerr.

Fourth Grade

First place, Rose Cabral; second place, Madison Hackett; and third place, Kayla Sparkman.

Fifth Grade

First place, Josh Seaman; second place, Travis Reed; and third place, Abby Carroll.

Prettyboy Elementary School

Third Grade

First place, Gianna Patti; second place, Meg van den Beemt; and third place, Lindsay Clarke.

Fourth Grade

First place, Julia Fick; second place, Sydney Whitlock; and third place, Grafton Griffey.

Fifth Grade

First place, Carley Blevins; Second place, Grace Clarke; and Third place, Julia Zemanek.

Seventh District Elementary School

Third Grade

First place, Anna Brandt; second place, Ethan Caulk; and third place, Brooke Wilson.

Fourth Grade

First place, Haven Reuter; second place, Ian Coleman; and third place, Lily Robertson and Jordan Faith.

Fifth Grade

First place, Natalie Johnson; second place, Jeremy Cain; and third place, Alice Marshall and Erin Sistek

Sparks Elementary School

Third Grade

First place, Camryn McGee; second place, Grady Naylor; and third place, Jacqueline Needle.

Fourth Grade

First place, Katie Rogers; second place, Jake Turner; and third place, Marissa Leeland.

Fifth Grade

First place, Brady McGee; second place, Avery Newport; and third place, Samantha Einhorn.

2010 Middle School Winners:

Hereford Middle School

First place, Alicia Moreira; second place, Kallie Snyder; and third place, Kristi Edwards.

2010 High School Winners

Hereford High School

First place, Alia Badawi; second place, Will Meister; and third place, Jesse Ginsburg.

The following students received awards at St. Mary's College of Maryland during its annual awards convocaton:

Camille Campanella, of Glen Arm, received the Economics Faculty Award.

• Jonathan Barkley, of Parkton, received the KBE Scholarship Award.

Baltimore County Public Schools honored 124 seniors in the Career and Technology Education program during an April 27 banquet at Martin's West, in Woodlawn.

Student Honorees:

Hereford High School

• Ross Apperson - advanced technology education.

• Ben Hudson - business management and finance.

• Becky Snyder - environmental and natural resource systems.

• Emma Tillman - human resource services.

• Thomas Ott - information technology.

• Travis Brown - school to career transition.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad