Olszewski names Baltimore County transition team members on topics from education to public safety

Baltimore County Executive Johnny Olszewski Jr. on Thursday released the names of dozens of county residents, activists and business leaders who are members of his transition team.

They’re divided among seven work groups that are examining various aspects of county government and life in the county. The work groups are expected to issue recommendations by the end of January.


Here’s a look at the leaders of the work groups:


  • Ed Gilliss, lawyer and partner at Royston, Mueller, McLean & Reid LLP. He’s a former chairman of the county school board.
  • Diana Morris, director of the Open Society Institute.

As financial experts warn that Baltimore County may need to either raise taxes or scale back borrowing, the new county executive said Monday his first act will be to form a commission to review the county’s fiscal outlook and budget process.

Jobs and Economic Development

  • Kim Schatzel, president of Towson University.
  • Freeman Hrabowski, president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
  • Shina Parker, CEO of Integrity Title.

Public Safety

  • Sheryl Goldstein, vice president of the Abell Foundation.
  • Carl Jackson, community activist.

Health and Human Services

  • Talib Horne, executive director of Bon Secours Community Works.
  • Gill Wylie, president of Johns Hopkins Medical Management.
  • Bill McCarthy, executive director of Catholic Charities.

Diversity, Inclusion and Quality of Life

  • Vicki Almond, former Baltimore County Council member.
  • Chuck Tildon, vice president of the United Way of Central Maryland.

As Johnny Olszewski Jr. takes over as Baltimore County executive Monday, he faces an increasingly challenging financial forecast that may force him to consider raising taxes.

Government Reform and Innovation

  • Beth Blauer, executive director of Johns Hopkins University’s Center for Government Excellence.
  • Lisa Hamilton, president and CEO of the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
  • Roy Meyers, professor at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.

Sustainability, Transportation and Infrastructure

  • Anwer Hasan, senior vice president of Louis Berger Water Services. He’s also chairman of the Maryland Higher Education Commission.
  • Tim Regan, president of Whiting-Turner.

A schedule of work group meetings is posted on the county executive’s website at baltimorecountymd.gov. Suggestions for the transition team can be sent to: ideas@baltimorecountymd.gov.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun