All-Baltimore County: Boys basketball

2008-09 Winter All-Metro
The Baltimore Sun's All-Metro and All-County selections for basketball, wrestling and track.

Player of the Year
Xavier Drake, Milford Mill

The senior guard led the No. 3 Millers (23-4) to their first Baltimore County title with consistent numbers, strong leadership and a knack for making clutch shots. He finished the season averaging 16.8points, five assists and fiverebounds. Drake, a three-year starter, hit three-pointers to beat No.6 City and county rival Parkville in the closing seconds.

Coach of the Year
John Bauersfeld, Calvert Hall

After going 15-17 with a young team in his first year as head coach, Bauersfeld guided the Cardinals to a 29-7 mark that helps lay a solid foundation for years to come. Calvert Hall, a junior-laden team, finished second behind St. Frances during the regular season in both the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference and the Baltimore Catholic League, reaching the MIAA championship game. Bauersfeld, a Calvert Hall alumnus, also was named the BCL Coach of the Year.

The team
Name School Cl.Pos.
Xavier DrakeMilford Mill Sr. G
Miquante Greene PatapscoSr.G
Kevin Harrison Dulaney Sr.G
Chris Hutchinson New Town Sr.G
Matt Rum Loyola Sr.G
Devin Spencer Towson Catholic Sr.G
Donya Jackson Calvert Hall Jr.F
Damion Lee Calvert HallJr.F
Levi Noel Towson CatholicJr.F
Jonathan Graham Calvert HallJr.C
Note: Team selected by Glenn Graham after consultation with The Baltimore Sun staff and area coaches.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun