Fields set for Baltimore council, comptroller and judges' races

Fields set for Baltimore council, comptroller and judges' races
Christopher Eames,24, (left), and Natheno Frazier-Bey, 25, (right) listen as City Council President Bernard C. "Jack" Young (middle) talks with them at the Youth Empowered Society Drop-In Center. (Lloyd Fox, Baltimore Sun)

Every Baltimore election will have a contested primary race this year — including city-wide contests for council president, comptroller and Circuit Court judge.

City Council President Bernard C. "Jack" Young faces a challenge in the Democratic primary from community activist Kim Trueheart. Two Republicans, David Anthony Wiggins and Shannon Wright are running, as are Libertarian Susan Gaztanaga, Green Party member Connor Meek and unaffiliated candidate Sharon Black.


Comptroller Joan M. Pratt has two opponents in the Democratic primary: retired law enforcement officer Valerie L. Cunningham and accountant Mike King. Libertarian Jon Bombach is also running.

In the judges' race, two challengers — City Councilman James B. Kraft and public defender Todd H. Oppenheim — are taking on a slate of six sitting judges: Shannon E. Avery, Audrey J. Sylvia Carrion, Michael A. DiPietro, Karen "Chaya" Friedman, Wanda Keyes Heard, and Cynthia H. Jones.

The filing deadline to run in the April 26 primary election was Wednesday evening.

Candidates have until Friday to withdraw from the ballot. Citizens have until Feb. 12 to formally challenge the residency of any of the candidates. The general election is Nov. 8.

There are 369,000 registered voters in Baltimore, including 288,00 Democrats, 47,000 unaffiliated voters and 30,000 Republicans. There are about 1,200 Libertarians and 1,100 Greens.

All of the City Council races are contested as well.

District 1

Six Democrats have filed to replace Kraft, including educator Zeke Cohen, lawyer Mark Edelson, Canton community association president Sean P. Flanagan, Army officer Scott Goldman, retired Drug Enforcement Administration agent Ed Marcinko and pastor Mark Parker.

Three Republicans are running as well: Social Services administrator Liz Copeland, a Department of Social Services administrator, lawyer Matthew McDaniel, and Jennifer Susan Dudley.

District 2

Incumbent Councilman Brandon Scott faces two Democrats: Melissa "Mel B." Bagley and Tony Christian.

District 3

Eight Democrats have filed to replace Councilman Robert W. Curran, who is retiring after 20 years. They are: Beatrice M. Brown, Marques Dent, Ryan Dorsey, Jermaine Jones, Alicia Joynes, Steven T. Mitchell, Richard R. Riha and George VanHook.

Green Party candidate G. Andreas "Spilly" Spiliadis also has filed to run.


District 4

City Councilman Bill Henry is facing a primary fight from educator Rodney C. Burris, CSX Vice President Brian W. Hammock and consultant Francesco Legaluppi.

The winner will face Republican William "Sam" Broaddus.

District 5

Seven Democrats are running to replace Councilwoman Rochelle "Rikki" Spector. They are: Christopher Ervin, Betsy Gardner, Derrick Lennon, Elizabeth Ryan Martinez, Isaac "Yitzy" Schleifer, Kinji Pierre Scott and Sharif J. Small

District 6

Incumbent Sharon Green Middleton faces a primary challenge from Democrats Mark E. Hughes and Timothy Mercer.

Green Party candidate Richard Thomas White Jr. will face the winner in the general election.

District 7

Eleven Democrats are running to replace Councilman Nick J. Mosby, who is running for mayor. They are: Antonio A. Asa, Marshall C. Bell; Kenneth Paul Church, Kerry J. Davidson, Shelia Davis, Jamar E. Day, former State Del. Shawn Z. Tarrant, David McMillan, Leon F. Pinkett III, Ahmed Royalty, and the Rev. Westley West of Faith Empowered Ministries.

Republican Tamara Purnell will face the winner in the general election.

An unaffiliated candidate, Nnamdi Scott, also has filed to run.

District 8

Seven Democrats are running to replace Councilwoman Helen Holton after 20 years in office. Benjamin Barnwell, Sr., Kristerfer Burnett, Reginald "Reggie" Fugett, Rodney "Faraj" Leach, Russell Neverdon, David Maurice Smallwood and Dwayne "Diamond K" Williams.

Republicans Joseph Brown Jr. and Nakia Washington also are running.

District 9

Councilman William "Pete" Welch will have to fend off five primary challengers to keep his seat. They are: Nathaniel Anderson, Jerrell Bratcher, John T. Bullock, J.B. Kenney, and Shawn Key.

Two Republicans, Kenneth Earl Ebron Jr. and Octavia D. Njuhigu, are running. Green Party candidate Jamie Latear Frierson and unaffiliated candidate Travis J. Robertson also have filed.

District 10

City Council Vice President Edward Reisinger faces four Democrats in his re-election bid. They are: Wanda K. Grimes, Kerry Eugene Hamilton, Charlie Metz, and Erica S. White.

Republicans Christine Digman and Michael W. Nolet are facing each other.

The winners will face Green Party member Amanda E. Maminski.

District 11

City Councilman Eric T. Costello faces four challengers in the Democratic primary: Curtis Johnson, Harry V. Preston, Greg Sileo and Dea Thomas.

District 12

Seven Democrats are running to replace City Councilman Carl Stokes, who is running for mayor. They are: Kelly Cross, Gary Crum, Ertha Harris, Jason Pyeron, Rashad Staton, Gordon Stick, and Robert R. Stokes Sr.

Green Party member Ian Schlakman has filed to run in the general election, as has unaffiliated candidate Frank W. Richardson.

District 13

City Councilman Warren Branch faces four challengers in the Democratic primary: Shannon Sneed, Antonio "Tony" Glover, Kenya S. Lee, and Ronald M. Owens-Bey.

Republican George Johnson will face the winner in the general election.

District 14

Councilwoman Mary Pat Clarke faces two primary challengers: David E. Carter and Terrell R. Williams.

Two unaffiliated candidates, Tia Hamilton and David Harding, also have filed to run.