Maryland politicians and their legal troubles

1974: Baltimore County Executive Dale Anderson, a Democrat, is convicted on 32 counts of extortion, conspiracy and tax evasion.

1974: Former Maryland Governor Spiro T. Agnew, a Republican, pleads "no contest" to charges of tax evasion while he was resigning as vice president of the United States.

1977: Democratic Gov. Marvin Mandel is convicted of mail fraud and racketeering. A decade later, his conviction was overturned by a federal judge.

1999: State Sen. Larry Young, West Baltimore Democrat, is acquitted of tax evasion and bribery.

2000: State Del. Tony Fulton, a Baltimore Democrat, walks out of court after a jury deadlocks on charges that he schemed with a lobbyist to defraud clients. The lobbyist is convicted. Prosecutors decide not to retry Fulton.

2007: State Sen. Thomas L. Bromwell, one of the most powerful Democratic lawmakers in Annapolis, pleads guilty to charges that he accepted payoffs to stay in office and steer contracts to a construction company. He is sentenced to 7 years in prison.

2009: Baltimore Mayor Sheila Dixon, a Democrat, is convicted on a single charge of taking gift cards intended for the city's poor.