Anne Arundel

Education briefs

AACC makes honor roll

Anne Arundel Community College has been named for the second straight year as one of the top colleges in the nation to work for, and it was also named to the great colleges' Honor Roll. The Honor Roll recognition by the Chronicle of Higher Education was awarded to 42 of 111 institutions designated as 2011 Great Colleges to Work For. Only 12 two-year community colleges and technical schools made the honor roll. Results were compiled from surveys of more than 44,000 employees at 310 two- and four-year colleges and universities. Survey results and information:


AACC professor chosen

The American Association of Community Colleges has selected Jennifer Lara, professor of education in the Teacher Education and Child Care Institute at Anne Arundel Community College, to serve on its 21st Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges. One of 36 representatives chosen nationwide, in 2010 she was selected for the inaugural White House Summit on Community Colleges. She is one of four AACC faculty members on the commission, which includes community college, university and higher education organization presidents, chancellors and directors.


Fees increase at AACC

The Board of Trustees of Anne Arundel Community College voted to increase fees to help offset the County Council's 15 percent decrease in county funding of the college for fiscal year 2012. The Senior Administrative Cycle Fee will increase from $40 to $80 per cycle and will begin for all registrations for the fall for courses at area senior centers, retirement communities and campus-based senior courses. The board will consider raising existing fees and charging new ones. The cycle fee allows unlimited enrollment in noncredit courses per term and has not increased since 2005. By state law, tuition will continue to be waived for seniors in state-subsidized courses. Information: 410-777-2222.

AACC board of trustees

The Anne Arundel Community College's board of trustees has elected Victoria Fretwell of Annapolis as chair and Jerome Klasmeier of Crownsville as vice chair. The two will serve as the trustees' leaders for fiscal year 2012. Joining them is the new student representative, Cynthia Robichaud of Annapolis, appointed by Gov. Martin O'Malley for a one-year term.

Cyber-study scholarship

Barrett and Anne McKown of Edgewater have established a $25,000 scholarship fund at Anne Arundel Community College to help offset tuition and educational expenses of county residents who enroll in cyber-related studies. The couple set up the Barrett and Anne McKown Scholarship for Cybersecurity Study as an open fund to allow ongoing contributions from the community. Preference will go to a U.S. citizen living in Anne Arundel County, who is attending a cybersecurity studies program, is enrolled full time and has at least a 3.0 GPA. To apply: Those interested in contributing to this fund or establishing scholarships can contact the AACC Foundation Inc.: 410-777-2515, or

Internship participation

Anne Arundel Community College invites employers to participate in its internship program. Students from a broad range of disciplines want real-world experience and mentoring from leaders in business, industry, government, and nonprofit agencies and organizations. For information on how the internships work or to offer an internship opportunity, contact the college's internship office at or


Nursing scholarships

Through 2014, three Anne Arundel Community College nursing students will receive $3,000 scholarships through a program set up by Johns Hopkins HealthCare. The scholarships will benefit county residents enrolled in the college's registered nursing associate's degree program who demonstrate financial need as established by the AACC financial aid office. Information: 410-777-2515 or

Engineering scholarships

Anne Arundel Community College has been awarded a $598,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to help support the college's Engineering Scholars Program. The grant will provide scholarships of up to $4,000 annually to financially needy, academically talented students to help them graduate from the school's engineering programs, transfer to a four-year institution and enter the workforce. Information: 410-777-2222.