As filing deadline passes, county executive contest highlights Arundel races

With the filing deadline for the 2014 elections passing Tuesday night at 9 p.m., the fields are set for Republican and Democratic primary elections for local offices, including the competitive race to become Anne Arundel County executive.

At the top of the ticket, the Republican primary for county executive features a matchup between current County Executive Laura Neuman and state Del. Steve Schuh.


On the Democratic side, George F. Johnson IV, a former county sheriff, is the sole candidate. Democrat Joanna Conti, who ran in 2010, withdrew on Monday.

Other candidates who have filed include:


County Council District 1 (Linthicum, Brooklyn Park, Hanover, west Severn): Democrat Pete Smith and Republican Bill Heine.

County Council District 2 (Glen Burnie, Millersville, east Severn): Democrats Andy Werner and Derick D. Young and Republican incumbent John Grasso. Libertarian David Sgambellone will appear on the general election ballot only.

County Council District 3 (Pasadena, Marley Neck, Gibson Island): Democrat Theresa Belinda Martin, Republican incumbent Derek Fink and Republicans Bob Legge and Millard T. Snowden Sr.

County Council District 4 (Crownsville, Odenton, Maryland City): Democrats Scott Hymes, Andrew C. Pruski and Devin F. Tucker and Republican E. Chike Anyanwu.

County Council District 5 (Severna Park, Broadneck): Republican incumbent Dick Ladd, Republicans Joseph M. Campbell, Maureen Carr-York, Michael Anthony Peroutka and Jack Norman Wilson Sr.; and Democrats Patrick Armstrong, Judith P. Moylan-Forman and David Whitney.

County Council District 6 (Annapolis, Annapolis Neck): Democratic incumbent Chris Trumbauer and Republican Dean D'Camera.

County Council District 7 (Crofton, south county): Republican incumbent Jerry Walker and Republican Michelle Corkadel.

State's Attorney: Democratic incumbent Anne Colt Leitess and Republicans Wes Adams and Richard Simmons.


Clerk of the Circuit Court: Republican incumbent Robert P. Duckworth and Republican challenger Gregory D. Mauchline.

Register of Wills: Republican incumbent Lauren M. Parker, Republican Nancy Almgren and Democrat Jacqueline Allsup.

Judge of the Orphans' Court: Democrat Nancy B. Hirshman and Republicans Phyllis Balzer Beardmore, Rose Brooks, Judith L. Duckett (incumbent), Mike Jacobs, Nancy C. Phelps (incumbent), Michael J. Ragland Sr., Alan Rzepkowski and Valerie Vollmers

Sheriff: Democratic incumbent Ron Bateman and Republican Joseph James Delimater III.

House of Delegates District 30A (Annapolis, Annapolis Neck, St. Margarets): Democratic incumbent Michael E. Busch, Democrats Laurie Sears Deppa, Chuck Ferrar, Cheryl Miller, Ridg Mills, Gordon Smith and Maria Triandos; and Republicans Genevieve Lindner and incumbent Herb McMillan.

House of Delegates District 30B (south county): Democrats Michael J. McNelly and Mitchelle Stephenson and Republicans Jim Fredericks and Seth Howard.


House of Delegates District 31A (Brooklyn Park, east Glen Burnie): Democrats Ned Carey, Robert Haynes and John Moran; and Republican Terry Lynn DeGraw.

House of Delegates District 31B (Pasadena, Marley Neck, Gibson Island): Democrats Jeremiah Chiappelli, Stan Janor and Doug Morris; Republican incumbents Don Dwyer Jr. and Nic Kipke; and Republican challengers Brian A. Chisholm, Paul William DrgosJr., Gus Kurtz, Faith Loudon, Meagan C. Simonaire and David Lee Therrien.

House of Delegates District 32 (west Glen Burnie, Severn, Hanover, Linthicum): Democratic incumbents Pamela Beidle and Theodore Sophocleus; Democratic challengers Mark S. Chang, Spencer Dove, Tonja McCoy and Steven D. Wyatt; Republicans Mark Angell, Joseph Fioravante, Joshua Kiracofe, Jesse Mayer and Tim Walters.

House of Delegates District 33 (Severna Park, Broadneck, Davidsonville, Crofton): Democrats Kostas Alexakis, Tom Angelis and Henry Green; Republican incumbents Cathy Vitale and Tony McConkey; and Republican challengers Jamie Falcon, Jeff Ferguson, Jeff Gauges, Nora Keenan and Sid Saab.

State Senate District 30 (Annapolis, Annapolis Neck, St. Margarets, south county): Democratic incumbent John C. Astle and Republicans Eric Delano Knowles and Don Quinn.

State Senate District 31 (Pasadena, Marley Neck, Gibson Island, east Glen Burnie, Brooklyn Park): Democrat Anthony Scott Harman and Republican incumbent Bryan W. Simonaire.


State Senate District 32 (West Glen Burnie, Severn, Hanover, Linthicum): Democratic incumbent Ed DeGrange Sr. and Republican Larry Barber.

State Senate District 33 (Severna Park, Broadneck, Davidsonville, Crofton): Republican incumbent Ed Reilly.

This year's ballots will not include two Anne Arundel politicians who were in the public eye in the past year.

County Councilman Daryl Jones, who was ousted from the council when he served a jail term but was later reinstated, will not seek public office in 2014. He was term-limited from running for the council and said he was encouraged by some to run for the House of Delegates. But he said he needed to focus on building his finances before running again.

"I truly enjoy public service and I look forward to returning. It's not going to be this time through," Jones said.

Former County Executive John R. Leopold, who was convicted of misconduct in 2013 and resigned, had indicated a desire to run for office again, but he is barred from running for office while serving a five-year probation. He appealed his conviction and sought a modification of his probation, but the Court of Special Appeals had not made a decision on the appeal by the close of business Tuesday.


Anne Arundel County had 357,204 registered voters in 2013, according to the county's Board of Elections.

The party breakdown is 152,406 Democrats (42.7 percent), 127,426 Republicans (35.7 percent), 74,764 voters not affiliated with a party (20.9 percent) and the rest aligned with third parties.