Police, DEA to collect old medications for proper disposal

Local police departments and the Drug Enforcement Administration will collect prescription drugs as part of the National Take Back Initiative on Saturday.

Officers and DEA agents will be at sites from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. to accept unused or expired prescriptions or over-the-counter medications. Officials warn that flushing or washing medications down the drain can pollute drinking water, and failing to dispose of them may allow them to be misused by children and teens.

The program is free and anonymous.

Participants are asked to remove any identifying information that may be on the prescription label. Liquid medications should be tightly sealed in the original container.

Police will not accept intravenous solutions, injectibles or syringes.

The following precincts have been designated as drop-off locations:

In Baltimore City:

•Central District station, 500 East Baltimore St.

Eastern District station, 1620 Edison Highway

Western District station, 1034 N. Mount St.

Southern District station, 10 Cherry Hill Road

In Baltimore County:

Precinct 2/Woodlawn, 6424 Windsor Mill Road

Precinct 7/Cockeysville, 111 Wight Ave.

Precinct 12/North Point, 1747 Merritt Blvd.

In Anne Arundel County:

Northern District station, 939 Hammonds Lane

Eastern District station, 3700 Mountain Road

In Howard County:

Northern District Headquarters, 3410 Courthouse Drive

Southern District Station, 11226 Scaggsville Road

In Harford County:

County Office Building, 220 South Main Street in Bel Air

Havre De Grace Police Department, 715 Pennington Ave.

In Carroll County:

Westminster Police Department, 36 Locust St.

Taneytown Police Department, 120 E. Baltimore St.

Sykesville Police Department at 7547 Main St.

Greenmount Satellite Office of the Carroll County Sheriff's Office at 2255 Hanover Pike


Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad