Food & Drink

TT the Artist releases debut album, 'Queen of the Beat'

In late April, Baltimore's TT the Artist held an album release show at Metro Gallery for her debut album, "Queen of the Beat." But months went by without the record's official release online.

That changed this morning when The Fader premiered the album on the tastemaking magazine's website. You can stream it there, listen to "Queen" on Spotify or purchase it on iTunes.


The 22-track effort features Baltimore artists like Hands Up! (Baltimore club duo Mighty Mark and Michael J.R.), DDm and Bounge, among others.

Born Tedra Wilson, TT said she aimed to balance her get-hype dance tracks with songs that reflected her personality and thoughts on the world, like "God Bless the Children," the track she dedicated to the victims of the Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando.


"My goal was to create something that had elements of what people know me for but also showcase my range, too," TT said on the phone Monday. "I feel like it was a real body of work, but it's only the beginning. In the words of Hillary [Clinton], I'm breaking the ceiling, just trying to get through that first industry barrier."

The album had been completed for "at least two to three weeks" but TT wanted to secure what she considered a proper outlet to debut the project. She also wanted to make sure "Queen" was available via streaming services. She's happy The Fader chose to premiere it.

"I'm embracing the media's willingness to share the project," she said. "It just feels good. I worked so hard on it."

Dish Baltimore

Dish Baltimore


Get the scoop on that new restaurant, learn about chef changes and discover your favorite new recipe. All your Baltimore food news is here.

The Fader's Nina Posner wrote of the album, "'Queen of the Beat' is a colorful amalgamation of pop, hip-hop, and everything in between, with distinct style and skill to spare. TT The Artist is truly the queen of the beat."

On Saturday, TT the Artist will perform in New York for the MoMA PS1 "Warm Up" concert series. DJ Class, Swizzymack, DJ Tameil, DJ Jayhood and others will also perform.

Listen to TT the Artist's in-depth interview with The Sun's new podcast, Female Trouble, here.

"Queen of the Beat" tracklist:

1.) Bass Drop Bigger (feat. Hands Up!)
2.) Testify
3.) Queen (feat. La Mu Dey)
4.) Art Party (feat. Bounge)
5.) Hitch Hiker (Skit)
6.) Hitch Hiker (feat. DDm)
7.) Wussy
8.) What You Know (feat. Mike Mike Zome)
9.) Physical (feat. BoySlashFriend)
10.) Zodiac Lover
11.) Dig
12.) Drop It
13.) Stop Drop 'n Roll
14.) Working Girl
15.) Touch Myself (feat. Miz Jaxxn)
16.) Baby Boy
17.) Beat of My Heart
18.) Lovin' You
19.) You Been Drinkin' (feat. Bounge)
20.) Prayer Man (feat. Hunter Hooligan)
21.) God Bless the Children
22.) Sing Along (feat. Kristina Carter & Je'elle)