Food & Drink

Pop duo Dungeonesse announce debut album, out May 14

The anticipated self-titled debut album from Dungeonesse, the Baltimore pop duo of Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak, Flock of Dimes) and Jon Ehrens (White Life, zillions of other projects), will be released on May 14 via Secretly Canadian.

In November, we received the first offering, "Drive You Crazy." Today, the group released its second single, the album opener "Shucks." Listen to it at the bottom of this post.


The tracklist, posted below, features 10 songs. Most intriguing are two songs that include TT the Artist and DDm, rappers featured in the June 2012 b cover story, "Baltimore gay rappers are loud and proud." Both MCs have a history of ripping dance beats, so these collaborations have potential to appeal to a wide audience.

Wasner gave a choice quote for a recent Dungeonesse press release: "Something that Jon and I talk about a lot is the idea of reclaiming pop music; placing it squarely in the hands of, I dunno, say a couple of regular nerds from Baltimore." She also discussed the overt pop project in a Q&A I conducted with her last summer.



01 Shucks
02 Drive You Crazy
03 Show You
04 Private Party
05 Nightlight
06 This Could Be Home (feat. TT the Artist)
07 Wake Me Up
08 Cadillac (feat. DDm)
09 Anywhere You Are
10 Soon