Animal Collective's new album, 'Centipede Hz,' due in September

This isn't as surprising as it is intriguing or exciting: Animal Collective, the experimental Brooklyn, N.Y.-via-Baltimore avant-pop group, will release its next album, "Centipede Hz" on Sept. 4 via Domino Records.


The album's press release was predictably thin, with only a not-so-informative video (watch it above), tracklist and release date given. Last week, the band unexpectedly released a digital 7" single of "Honeycomb/Gotham." It will get a physical release on June 26. Stream it below after some extended white space.

The band's last full-length, "Merriweather Post Pavilion," was widely celebrated and it topped the Village Voice's Pazz and Jop poll for best album of 2009.

Here's the "Centipede Hz" tracklist:

1. Moonjock
2. Today's Supernatural
3. Rosie Oh
4. Applesauce
5. Wide Eyed
6. Father Time
7. New Town Burnout
8. Monkey Riches
9. Mercury Man
10. Pulleys
11. Amanita