‘Hadestown,’ featuring Baltimore’s André De Shields, wins Grammy, other Maryland artists lose to Billie Eilish, Michelle Obama and others

“Hadestown,” a musical featuring Baltimore native André De Shields, won the Grammy Award for best musical theater album on Sunday while other nominated Maryland artists lost to the likes of Billie Eilish, Michelle Obama and Tyler, The Creator.

Announced at the 62nd Annual Grammy Awards in Los Angeles, the musical beat out “Ain’t Too Proud - The Life and Times of The Temptations” and “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” among others to take home the prize.


“Hadestown” is a stage musical adaptation of the 2010 folk album of the same name by artist Anaïs Mitchell.

It features De Shields, a Baltimore City College graduate who has been acting, singing and directing since the late 1960s.


Last year, De Shields took home the Tony Award for best featured actor in a musical, the first in his 50-year career, while the play itself won the award for best musical.

Marylanders Maggie Rogers, YBN Cordae, John Waters and Anne Arundel County’s Brothers Osborne were also included on the list of 2020 Grammy nominations by the Recording Academy.

Rogers, an Easton native, was nominated for Best New Artist, largely on the strength of her debut album, “Heard It in a Past Life,” released in January. Gen Z songstress Billie Eilish took home the award.

YBN Cordae, who grew up in Waldorf as Cordae Dunston and attended Towson University, received a pair of nominations. His debut studio album, “The Lost Boy,” earned a nod for Best Rap Album, but the award ultimately went to Tyler, The Creator for his album “Igor.” Cordae’s song "Bad Idea,” featuring Chance the Rapper, was also nominated for Best Rap Song but lost to J. Cole’s “A Lot.”

Michelle Obama’s audio book “Becoming" beat out Waters, who was nominated for Best Spoken Word Album, for the audio recording of his latest book, “Mr. Know-It-All.”

The Brothers Osborne, natives of Deale in southern Anne Arundel County, received a Best Country Duo/Group Performance nod for their song “I Don’t Remember Me (Before You).” They lost to Dan + Shay for their song “Speechless.” It was the Brothers Osborne’s fourth nomination in that category; they have yet to win.

Baltimore Sun reporters Lillian Reed and Chris Kaltenbach contributed to this article.