Cannes 2015: Guillermo del Toro, Jake Gyllenhaal among jury members

Guillermo del Toro, Jake Gyllenhaal and Sienna Miller are among those serving on Cannes' competition jury

Guillermo del Toro and Jake Gyllenhaal will be among the diverse members of the Cannes competition jury when the prestigious film festival gets underway next month.

The jury is typically an eclectic mix of creators and performers, and this year’s group is no exception: In addition to the “Hellboy” director and “Nightcrawler” star, organizers Tuesday announced that actress Sienna Miller and French Canadian enfant terrible Xavier Dolan (who won the Jury Prize at the fest last year for his unruly-son drama “Mommy”) will serve on the panel.

Spanish actress Rossy de Palma, Malian musician Rokia Traoré and French hyphenate Sophie Marceau round out the group.

Joel and Ethan Coen were previously announced as heads of the jury, the first time more than one person will serve in the chief role. The presence of the quirky “No Country for Old Men” auteurs and a genre iconoclast like Del Toro should make for an intriguing set of winners — and an especially spirited parlor game of prize handicapping and speculation that precedes those winners' announcement throughout the festival.

The presence of De Palma and Del Toro could address some critics who noted when the competition lineup was announced last week that the slate did not include any Spanish-language titles.

Cannes tends to populate its jury with a group of international actors anchored by a few bold auteurs; last year saw the likes of Nicolas Refn and Jane Campion serve on the competition jury, while the previous year yielded Steven Spielberg and Ang Lee. Still, the presence of a fanboy favorite like del Toro gives the 2015 panel an added colorful spin.

Among the movies vying for prizes at this year’s gathering are new films from Todd Haynes, Jacques Audiard, Gus Van Sant and Denis Villeneuve, with several more expected to be announced shortly. Cannes will kick off on May 13 with Emmanuelle Bercot’s “La Tete Haute” out of competition.


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad