Bay Rivers District sends 37 wrestlers to Group AA state tournament

Eastern View won the team championship and Bay Rivers District wrestlers won nine of 14 weight classes in the Region I tournament at King George High School Saturday.

Winners from the Bay Rivers included:

* Blake Hohman of New Kent, who beat Mark Weinstock of Chancellor 9-0 in the 126-pound final.

* Corey Todd of New Kent, a 2-1 winner over Hunter STartner of Tabb at 132.

* New Kent's B.C. Laprade at 138. He defeated Carter Page of Smithfield 9-4 at 138.

* Grafton's Justin McRee, who beat York's Marcus Wakelyn 3-1 at 152.

* Kody Farrington of Poquoson at 170. He defeated Jacob Tucker of King George 6-2.

* Nick Kennedy of Smithfield, a 6-3 winner over Trent Graham at 182.

* Chuck Sharon of Smithfield at 195 pounds. He beat Grandon Gallahan of Chancellor 5-1.

* Jamestown's Devin Washington, who beat Wilson Gregory of New Kent 3-2.

* And Jacob Rose of Tabb, who pinned Wyatt Carroll of Culpeper in 2 minutes, 53 seconds.

The top four finishers in each weight class qualify for the Group AA state tournament next weekend in Salem. The Bay Rivers District will send 37 of the 56 wrestlers who qualified from the Region I tournament.

Team scores: 1. Eastern View 184; 2. New Kent 154; 3. Poquoson 126; 4. Smithfield 112; 5. Tabb 106; 6. Chancellor 75 1/2; 7. York 67; 8. Culpeper 53; 9. Jamestown 52; 10. King George 39; 11. Courtland 38; 12. Grafton 37; 13. Spotsylvania 33; 14. Lafayette 27; 15. Southampton 16; 16. Caroline 11; 17. Bruton 4.

Championship finals: 106—Aldiva, Eastern View, d. Richard Harrell, Tabb, 11–8; 113—Bryan Ramey, Eastern View, p. Kyle Boyd, Tabb, 1:47; 120—Joe Cafiero, Chancellor, d. Bret Shurina, Eastern view, 4–2; 126—Blake Hohman, New Kent, d. Mark Weinstock, Chancellor, 9–0; 132—Corey Todd, New Kent, d. Hunter Starner, Tabb, 2–1; 138—BC Laprade, New Kent, d. Carter Page, Smithfield, 9–4; 145—Austin Jenkins, Eastern View, d. Baily Hicks, Tabb, 7–5; 152—Justin McRee, Grafton d. Marcus Wakelyn, York, 3–1; 160—Logan Shurina, Eastern view, d. Declan Kingston, York, 9–4; 170-Kody Farrington, Poquoson, d. Jacob Tucker, King George, 6–2; 182—Nick Kennedy, Smithfield, d. Trent Graham, Poquoson, 6–3; 195—Chuck Sharon, Smithfield, d. Brandon Gallahan, Chancellor, 5–1; 220—Devin Washington,  Jamestown, d. Wilson Gregory, New Kent, 3–2); 285—Jacob Rose, TAbb,  p. Wyatt Carroll, Culpeper,  2:53.

Consolation  finals: 106—Hunter Wright, Poquoson, d. Jackson Gray, New Kent, tech. fall 16–1; 113—Bryson Mitchell, New Kent, d. Douglas Palacios, Courtland, 3–2; 120—Kalide Endale, Lafayette d. Trey Evans, Spotsylvania, forfeit; 126—Zack Burke, Smithfield, d. Derek Meyers, Tabb, 4–2; 132—Kyle Poultney, Poquoson, d. David Counts, Culpeper, 8–3; 138—Tony Pritt, Eastern View, p. Zach Henry, York, 1:45; Russ Porter, Poquoson, d. Bryson Howard King George, 8–0; 152—Brett Flora, New Kent, d. Ross Graham, Poquoson, 9–2; 160—Jordan Garlow, Smithfield, p. Alon Clipper,  King George, 2:06; 170—Cody Vick, Culpeper, d. Devin Gouldine, New Kent, 8–3; 182-Tavis Langejans. Grafton, d. Donald Harris–Smith, Caroline, 5–2; 195—Sam Kitson, Jamestown, d. Reily Howell, Poquoson, 4–2; 220—Joe Tyson, Courtland, d. Cullen Burnett, Eastern View, 4–3; 285—Austin Holvoet, Lafayette, d. Zach Rodriguez, New Kent, 5–2.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad