ACC All Access: Clemson, Boyd preseason ACC picks; Virginia Tech chosen 2nd in Coastal, Virginia 6th

For just the second time in the last 22 seasons, Clemson was chosen by voting ACC media to win the conference’s football championship.

Virginia Tech was selected to finish second behind Miami in the Coastal Division and Virginia was picked sixth in the Coastal. Clemson was picked on 95 of 120 media ballots to win the ACC championship, with a win over predicted Coastal Division winner Miami representing the most popular voted pairing of teams in the conference title game (55 votes for that matchup).

Phoebus High graduate and Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd was selected on 105 ballots to win player of the year honors. Tech quarterback Logan Thomas was tied for third with Clemson wide receiver Sammy Watkins in preseason player of the year voting with three votes each.

One voter selected Tech to win the conference championship. The last time Clemson was picked to win the championship game was 2008, when it went on to finish fifth in the Atlantic, and Wake Forest defeated Georgia Tech in the actual conference title game.

Miami was selected to win the Coastal Division for only the second time since joining the ACC in 2004. Miami was picked to win the division and the conference championship in ’06, but it ended up fourth in the division.

U.Va. has been chosen to finish fifth or worse in the Coastal Division in five of the last six years. Here’s a detailed look at how voting turned out this year:

Atlantic Division

1.       Clemson (102 first-place votes)815 points

2.       Florida State (18)              731

3.       North Carolina State       490

4.       Wake Forest      392

5.       Maryland             373

6.       Syracuse              320

7.       Boston College  211


Coastal Division

1.       Miami (65)          736

2.       Virginia Tech (27)             654

3.       North Carolina (22)          649

4.       Georgia Tech (6)               522

5.       Pittsburgh           313

6.       Virginia230

7.       Duke     228


ACC Player of the Year

1.       Tajh Boyd, Clemson 105 votes

2.       Duke Johnson, Miami    4

3.       Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech       3

Sammy Watkins, Clemson            3

5.       Bryn Renner, UNC           2

6.       Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech             1

Lamarcus Joyner, FSU    1

Stephen Morris                1


ACC championship votes

1.       Clemson              95

2.       FSU        15

3.       Georgia Tech 3

Miami   3

UNC       3

6.       Virginia Tech      1

ACC championship game predictions

Clemson over Miami      55 votes

Clemson over Virginia Tech         19

Clemson over UNC          18

FSU over Miami                                7

FSU over Virginia Tech   7

Clemson over Georgia Tech        3

Georgia Tech over Clemson        3

Miami over Clemson      2

UNC over FSU   2

Virginia Tech over Clemson         1

UNC over Clemson          1

Miami over FSU                                1

FSU over UNC                   1


Click here to follow Norm Wood on Twitter. Thanks.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad