Harford County schools add more meal sites for students as closures extended amid coronavirus threat

Harford County Public Schools has distributed more than 4,500 meals at various sites around the county since it started offering them last week amid coronavirus-related school closures, and will continue to distribute meals as the state announced Wednesday the closures would be extended four more weeks.

Two additional meal distribution sites were added and times were adjusted at three other sites on Thursday, Jillian Lader, a spokeswoman for the school system said. On Monday, two more meal sites will be added in northern Harford County.


Meals are now being served at the Edgewood Rec and Community Center from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., and in the Swan Harbour Dell mobile home park in Havre de Grace from noon to 1 p.m.

Starting Monday, Norrisville Elementary School in White Hall will start distributing meal kits from 11 to 11:45 a.m. and North Bend Elementary School in Jarrettsville will do so from noon to 1 p.m.


Distribution times changed starting Thursday at three sites: Affinity Old Post Apartments in Aberdeen is now from 11 to 11:45 a.m., Joppatowne Elementary School is from 11 a.m. until noon, and Riverside Elementary School in Joppa is from 12:15 to 1 p.m.

The distribution system is being operated through HCPS’ Summer Food Service Program; children ages 2 to 18 are eligible to receive the meals. Students must be present when families go to the distribution sites, in accordance with federal regulations.

Gary Childress, supervisor of food and nutrition for Harford County Public Schools, said they are distributing approximately 1,500 meal packs each day.

Harford County meal distribution sites

Here are locations where meals will be distributed, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. unless otherwise noted:

  • Aberdeen Middle School — 111 Mt. Royal Ave., Aberdeen
  • Abingdon Elementary School — 399 Singer Road, Abingdon (12:15 to 1 p.m.)
  • Affinty Old Post Apartments — 101 Hanover St., Aberdeen (11 to 11:45 a.m.)
  • Bel Air Elementary School — 30 E. Lee St., Bel Air (11 to 11:30 a.m.)
  • Church Creek Elementary School — 4299 Church Creek Road, Belcamp
  • Cunion Field — 1702 Trimble Road, Edgewood
  • Dublin Elementary School — 1527 Whiteford Road, Street (noon to 12:30 p.m.)
  • Edgewood High School — 2415 Willoughby Beach Road, Edgewood
  • Edgewood Elementary School — 2100 Cedar Drive, Edgewood
  • Edgewood Rec and Community Center — 1980 Brookside Drive, Edgewood
  • George D. Lisby Elementary School — 810 Edmund St., Aberdeen
  • Hall’s Cross Roads Elementary School — 203 E. Bel Air Ave., Aberdeen
  • Havre de Grace Elementary School — 600 S. Juniata St., Havre de Grace
  • Havre de Grace Middle School — 401 Lewis Lane, Havre de Grace
  • Joppatowne Elementary School — 407 Trimble Road, Joppa (11 a.m. until noon)
  • Norrisville Elementary School — 5302 Norrisville Road, White Hall (11 to 11:45 a.m.)
  • North Bend Elementary School — 1445 N. Bend Road, Jarrettsville (noon to 1 p.m.)
  • Playground off Ashton Lane — Abingdon (11 a.m. to noon)
  • Perrywood Gardens Apartments — 301 Mayberry Drive, Aberdeen
  • Riverside Elementary School — 211 Stillmeadow Drive, Joppa (12:15 to 1 p.m.)
  • Swan Harbour Dell mobile home park — 40 Robinhood Road, Havre de Grace (noon to 1 p.m.)

People can go to hcpsmenus.com for more information on meal distribution sites, or they can call Food & Nutrition Services at 410-638-4078.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun