Many Harford election races fill as 9 p.m. Tuesday deadline passes

Candidates remain unopposed in three Harford County races after the Tuesday 9 p.m. deadline to file as a candidate for 2014 came and went.

Two incumbent county officeholders, Harford County Council District B Councilman Joe Woods and Register of Wills Derek Hopkins, both Republicans, do not have an opponent from either party.

Circuit Court Judge Yolanda Curtin, who was appointed to the bench in the fall and is standing for election to a full term, also did not have an opponent as of the deadline Tuesday.

A number of other races are expected to be wide open, if for no other reason than a number of key county offices and some legislative seats are open this year because of either retirements or the incumbents holding those offices are running for something else.

Among the open county offices are county executive, county council president and two of six district council seats.

A Republican filed for every county race; the same could not be said for Democrats.

In addition to the District C council and register of wills elections, the Democrats do not have a candidate in County Council District D. A Democrat did, however, file for clerk of the court late last week.

County executive, council

In the county executive race, Republican Barry Glassman and Democrat Joseph Werner still did not have opponents in their respective primaries. The two are bidding to succeed David Craig, who is running for the Republican nomination for governor.

No additional candidates had filed for county council president since Friday. Like county executive, the council president race won't have an incumbent because Republican Billy Boniface decided to retire after two terms.

Republicans Richard Slutzky, a veteran district councilman; Todd Paterniti; and former council president Robert Wagner are running for the Republican nomination for council president. James Thornton and Christopher Boardman have filed for the Democratic nomination.

In County Council District A, incumbent Dion Guthrie is entered in the Democratic primary; Mike Perrone Jr. filed as a Republican, as did Yvonne Baldwin, who filed Tuesday afternoon. She ran unsuccessfully for the seat in 2010.

In County Council District C, incumbent James McMahan has filed in the Republican primary, as has Eric Daxon. Joining the GOP primary in District C on Tuesday was David Mitchell. Gina Kazimir is the only Democrat in the District C race.

In County Council District D, incumbent Chad Shrodes and Johnathan Grimmel are aboard in the Republican primary. No Democrats were entered as of the Tuesday deadline.

The County Council District E primary races got more crowded as candidates from each party stepped forward in hopes of succeeding Slutzky. David Lambros, Diane Sengstacke and Patrick Vincenti filed in the Republican primary joining Blane Miller Sr.; Melvin Wehrman Jr. was the last Republican to file, and he filed Tuesday. Former councilwoman and state delegate Barbara Kreamer filed in the Democratic primary, joining Duvowel M. Peaker Sr.

There were no changes in the County Council District F primary lineups, where candidates hope to succeed incumbent Democrat Mary Ann Lisanti, who is running for the House of Delegates. Joe Smith was still the only Democrat to file. Monica Ann Worrell and Curtis L. Beulah filed in the Republican primary.


Bob Peck of Forest Hill filed the necessary paperwork to run as an unaffiliated candidate for sheriff. His name will appear only on the general election ballot.

There were no other changes since Friday in the primary lineups for sheriff, where incumbent Sheriff Jesse Bane is the only candidate to file so far in the Democratic primary. Jeff Gahler and John Ryan have filed in the Republican primary.

Clerk, state's attorney

Democrat Robert J. Neuman Jr., of Abingdon, filed for clerk of the circuit court late last week. Incumbent Republican James Reilly is also without an opponent in his party's primary.

Incumbent State's Attorney Joseph Cassilly is the only candidate in the Republican primary, while Steven Trostle remains the only Democrat to file for the top county prosecutor job.

State Senate

There was one change in the State Senate race in District 34, covering southern Harford and the Abingdon and Bel Air areas, which is an open seat with the pending retirement of incumbent Nancy Jacobs.

Republican Derek Howell withdrew on Monday, leaving Bob Cassilly as the only remaining candidate in the Republican primary. The Democratic primary lineup remained the same past the filing deadline, with former senator Art Helton Jr. pitted against Del. Mary-Dulany James.

In the State Senate race in District 35, covering northern Harford County and western Cecil County, Bridget Kelly, of Perryville, filed last week to become the first and only Democrat in the race. The Republican primary lineup has Del. Wayne Norman of Harford County pitted against Thomas Wilson of Rising Sun.

In the State Senate race in District 7, covering western Harford and eastern Baltimore County, incumbent Sen. J.B. Jennings has a Republican primary opponent in Joseph Krysztoforski of Baltimore County. Kim Letke, from Joppa, filed in the Democratic primary Tuesday afternoon.

House of Delegates

In House of Delegates Subdistrict 34A, two seats covering the Route 40 corridor from Joppatowne to Havre de Grace, two more Democrats entered the race since Friday, bringing to five the total in the primary lineup. One of the seats is open with incumbent James running for State Senate.

Maria Terry filed in the Democratic primary Monday, and Pat Murray filed Friday, joining Steve Johnson, Marla Posey-Moss and Lisanti. The Republican primary lineup changed Tuesday with the addition of Beth Boyson, bringing the field to three candidates, including incumbent Del. Glen Glass and Mike Blizzard.

In Subdistrict 34B, one seat covering Bel Air and part of Abingdon, three-term incumbent Del. Susan McComas will be unchallenged in the Republican primary. She will face the winner of the Democratic primary; that person will be either Harford County Board of Education member Cassandra Beverley, who filed Tuesday afternoon, or Jeff Dinger of Bel Air, who filed Monday.

In Subdistrict 35B, both seats covering northern Harford are open because of Norman's candidacy for senate and the impending retirement of the other incumbent, Donna Stifler. Two Democrats, Daniel Lewis Lamey and Jeffrey Elliott, filed on Thursday and Monday, respectively. The Republican primary candidates remain Andrew Cassilly, Teresa Reilly and Jason Gallion.

In District 7, all three incumbents, Dels. Rick Impallaria, Pat McDonough and Kathy Szeliga, filed for re-election in the Republican primary and Dave Seman and Tina Sutherland join them in the race. Bob Bowie Jr., Pete Definbaugh and Norman Gifford Jr., three residents of the district's Baltimore County portion, had filed in the Democratic primary as of Tuesday afternoon.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad