Members of a task force to study the structure of the Baltimore County school board will start meeting next month.

The group, formally named the Task Force on the Selection Process, Accountability and Professionalism of the Baltimore County Board of Education, will hold three public meetings in Reisterstown, Essex and Towson, starting July 6. State Sen. Kathy Klausmeier and Del. Steve Lafferty will chair the task force, which will include six other state lawmakers -- Senators J.B. Jennings, Delores Kelley and Bobby Zirkin, and Delegates Emmett Burns, Wade Kach and Dana Stein.


Baltimore County Council chairman John Olszewski, Sr. will serve as its representative. Appointments from County Executive Kevin Kamenetz and the Maryland Association of Boards of Education are forthcoming.

Klausmeier and Del. John Olszewski Jr., gave comments in a press release:

"I am pleased that the Task Force includes a diverse range of opinions and experiences," shared Senator Klausmeier. "This will serve the group well as it embarks on its work in the months ahead."

Delegate Olszewski said that he is "excited to bring our educational stakeholders together so that we can collectively develop solutions to continue advancing educational excellence in Baltimore County." Olszewski added that, "The work of this group can act as an important blueprint as we consider changes to how our school system operates during the next legislative session."

The meeting dates are as follows:

  • July 6 -- Reisterstown Library, 21 Cockeysmill Road, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • July 7 -- Essex Library, 1110 Eastern Blvd., 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • July 25 -- Towson Library, 320 York Road, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Klausmeier's district office is also accepting testimony by mail (ATTN: Baltimore County School Board Task Force). Submissions may also be emailed to by July 25. The task force will make recommendations for the House and Senate delegations to consider during the 2012 legislative session.